Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 19 October 2008





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Royal retain Hayman Trophy

WATERPOLO: Royal College, the undisputed waterpolo champions gave yet another creditable performance to win the second leg of the 17th edition of the Dr. R. L. Hayman Trophy Waterpolo encounter defeating S. Thomas’ College by 11 goals to 8 played at the Sugathadasa Stadium pool yesterday.

Royalists retained the trophy for the fourth year in succession. They won in 2005 (18-9), 2006 (10-8) and 2007 (16-11) with yesterdays win the victory margin rose to 21-12. In the 1st leg Royal outplayed S. Thomas 10 goals to 4 played on October 13. Incidentally this is the highest aggregate of goals recorded in the series started in 1992.

The game started off on a fast space and the first quarter score was in favour of Royal 3-2. The second quarter the winners increased the lead 4-1, Thomian scored 3-1 and in the fourth quarter Royal made 3-2 to total 11-8.

Royal showed the same form of the first leg with good team work. They played with better combination, swan were positioned play, passing and defence equally good. But missed scoring opportunities. On the other hand Thomians fought back in the last two quarters but were unable to overcome the Royal aggregate of goals.

For Royal Bilal Hassen (4) Yohan Samarajeewa and Shehan Dassanayake 3 goals each, Poorna Kankanige (1) scored. For Thomians S. Warnapura (4) B. A. C. A. Perera (2) D. C. de Silva and N. Paranavithana one goal each.

Royal College retained the Mahinda Liyanage Trophy when they outclassed S. Thomas’ College by 16 goals to 5 in the second leg.

Royal who won the 1st leg on Monday 11-2 increased the margin of goals to 27 to 7. The Reid Avenue lads set a record in the series. It was a one sided affair with Royal dominating in all four-quarters 3-1, 5-1, 3-1 and 5-1.

For Royal Wasim Marikkabawa netted 6 goals, Shan Lakshitha 4, Musharaf Uwais 2, Chethana Munasinghe, Akila Weerasinghe and Sandeepa Deheragoda one each, Senitha Gunawardena (2), Denith Francis (1) Deshan de Mel (1) and Nehan Salgado (1) scored for Thomians. Both FINA referees Alex Lim and Germany Chens from Malaysia controlled the matches.



Gamin Gamata - Presidential Community & Welfare Service - news & information
Ceylinco Banyan Villas
Donate Now |
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka

| News | Editorial | Financial | Features | Political | Security | Spectrum | Impact | Sports | World | Plus | Magazine | Junior | Letters | Obituaries |


Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2008 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor