Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 21 March 2010





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

OBSERVER-MOBITEL Cricket Contests...

Kithruwan Vithanage and Malinda Samarasekera - the new leaders:

CRICKET: Royal College allrounder Kithruwan Vithanage, the under-19 Sri Lanka Youth Player who hit a brisk 45 runs in 43 balls in the second innings for Royal at the 131st Battle of the Blues ‘Big Match’ played last week at the SSC grounds, takes the top spot in the All-Island Contest with 40,479 votes while Malinda Samarasekera captain of Maris Stella College is in front in the Outstation Contest with 30,002 votes in the OBSERVER-MOBITEL Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year Competition 2010.

Both Kithruwan and Malinda are in the lead after the count on coupon number 10.

In coupon number nine, Kithruwan was placed in fifth position with 32,012 votes, but climbed to the top collecting 8,467 votes, on Coupon No. 10. Chathura Peiris of St. Peter’s College, the Sri Lanka under-19 Youth World Cup captain, is in second position with 40,201 votes while yet another Royalist Shavindra Edirisuriya is in third place with 40,002 votes.

In the Outstation Contest, Malinda Samarasekera who was on top after the count on coupons number 7, 8 and 9 - 30,002 votes received 5,513 votes on coupon number 10. N. Rajaguru of Nugawela Central is in second place with 29,947 votes and K. Wickramarachchi of Gamini MV, Bentota is in third place with 27,806 votes.

Readers are reminded to send any number of coupons to one particular cricketer in one envelope in either contest.

Observer-Mobitel Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year 2010

All-Island - Coupon No. 10:
1. Kithruwan Vithanage (Royal) 40,479
2. Chathura Peiris (St.Peter’s College) 40,201
3. S. Edirisuriya (Royal) 40,002
4. Sachithra Perera (Ananda) 39,957
5. Nipun Karunanayake (Nalanda) 38,852
6. S. H. I. Kumara (Mahanama College) 28,871
7. Rasika Gamage (Dharmapala College) 27,688
8. H. Wickremasuriya (SACK) 21,122
9. Waruna Fernando (SBC) 14,102
10. Deshan Dians (St.Sebs.) 9,408

Observer-Mobitel Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year 2010

Outstation - Coupon No.10:
1. Malinda Samarasekera (Maris Stella College) 30,002
2. N. Rajaguru (Nugawela Central) 29,947
3. K. Wickremarachchi (Gamini MV, Bentota) 27,805
4. N. Abeyratne (Ibbagamuwa Central) 20,145
5. T. Dilranga (Bandaranayake C. Gampaha) 19,281
6. S. Sankalpa (Gurukula C. Kelaniya) 11,408
7. A. Thilakaratne (Sri Rahula C. Katugastota) 9,027
8. A. Perera (Royal Panadura) 6,251
9. M. Ranasinghe (St.John’s Nugegoda) 5,590
10.Sapumal Pathirana (Kalutara Vidyalaya) 3,371.

[Cash Awards]

Weekly readers 1st prize of Rs. 2500 to: P.B.K. Wijepala, No. 3/282, Ranaviru Hemantha Perera Mawatha, Manamulla West, Panadura.

Weekly readers 2nd prize of Rs. 1500 to: Uditha P. Dasanayake, 183 A, Sri Somananda Mawatha, Raigama, Bandaragama.

Weekly readers 3rd prize of Rs. 1000 to: B. M. Perera, No. 410, Horana Road, Alubomulla.


Donate Now |
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Magazine | Junior | Obituaries |


Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2010 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor