Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 31 October 2010





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

36th National Sports Festival:

Bandara, Lakshan Priyadharshani win gold

GAMES: Veteran long distance runner Ajith Bandara and national athlete N.C.D. Priyadarshani gave a flying start to the 36th National Sports Festival with two splendid performances at the Bogambara Stadium in Kandy yesterday.

The winner of the menís 10,000 metres final Ajith Bandara (315) leading from the front on the opening day of the 36th National Sports Festival which began at the Bogambara Stadium in Kandy.

Bandara representing the North Western Province lived upto expectations as he cruised to a convincing victory in the menís 10,000 metres final and to clinch the first gold medal at the Games.

Bandara clocked a pleasing 32.01.82 seconds although he had earlier returned a personal best of 32.21.5 seconds. He was followed by K.G.R. Samankumara (Uva) and Sujith Kumara (Central) in the second and third place respectively.

Meanwhile another national athlete N.C.D. Priyadarshani from the Western Province also came out with a magnificent performance to win the gold medal in the womenís triple jump event with an effort of 12.50 metres.

Priyadarshani who also holds the Sri Lanka record for an effort of 13.15 metres last year faced little opposition from the rest of the opponents and went on to produce a repeat performance. In fact her closest rival and the runner up R. Subasinghe from the Southern Province managed only 12.44 metres while D.C.A. Dahanayake from Western Province was placed third with a performance of 12.01 metres.

The third gold medal on the opening day of the track and field events went to R.P.W. Lakshan of North Western Province for an effort of 66.74 metres in the menís javelin throw.

The National Sports Festival was declared opened by the Prime Minister D.M. Jayaratne after the traditional Olympic Torch was lit by two celebrated athletes Anuruddha Ratnayake of boxing fame and shuttler Thilini Jayasinghe both hailing from the hill capital.

The results:

10,000 metres (Men): 1. Ajith Bandara (North Western Province) 32.01.82 sec, 2. K.G.R. Samankumara (Uva) 32.07.59 sec, 3. Sujith Kumara (Central) 32.09.26.

Triple jump (Women): 1. N.C.D. Priyadarshani (Western Province) 12.50 metres, 2. R. Subasinghe (Southern Province) 12.44 metres, 3. D.C.A. Dahanayake (Western Province) 12.01 metres.

Javelin throw (Men): 1. R.P.W. Lakshan (North Western Province) 66.74 metres, 2. K.G.R. Chaturanga (Central Province) 62.31 metres, 3. D.G.S. Ranasinghe (Southern Province) 62.23 metres.

FIAT car for Sports Star

GAMES: FIAT Sri Lanka the Sri Lankan partner of Italyís largest car manufacturer Fiat has stepped forward to sponsor the Sportsman of the Year at the 36th National Sports Festival which commenced at the Bogambara Stadium in Kandy yesterday. Having continuously sponsored many global sporting events this will be the first time that Fiat Sri Lanka will be associated with at a national sporting event of this calibre. The winner who will be adjudged as the Sportsman of the Year will be presented with one of the latest models in the Fiat automobile series. (C.D.)

Thirteen finals today

ATHLETICS: A total of thirteen finals will be worked off on the second day of the track and field events in the 36th National Sports Festival at the Bogambara Stadium in Kandy today (Sunday).

The athletic events will start with the womenís 5000 metres final at 7.30 a.m. and will conclude with the menís 4X100 metres relay final.

The cynosure of all eyes will be on Asian Games bound athlete Manjula Kumara from Southern Province who will be hoping to stamp his class in the menís high jump event which is scheduled for 8.00 a.m. In addition N.C.D. Priyadarshani from Western Province will be looking to complete a fine double when she competes in the womenís long jump event at 9.00 am. (C.D.)


LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now |

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior | Magazine |


Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2010 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor