Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 20 March 2011





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

‘Lovers quarrel’ on March 25 and 26:

Richmond with balanced team has edge over Mahinda

Richmond College, Galle with two regular Sri Lanka Under 19 players who had performed exceptionally well with bat and ball against the recently concluded England Under 19 team, should have the edge over Mahinda College when they meet each other in their traditional 106th Lovers’ Quarrel ‘big’ match on March 25 and 26th at the Galle International Cricket Stadium.

The two Richmond players _ skipper Dananjaya de Silva and Yasodha Lanka have performed well as all-rounders at the Under 19 level and are promising players for the future.

In the Mahinda camp too, their captain Kaushalya Gajasinghe has represented Sri Lanka Schools against their English counterparts and is a player certainly to be watched.

So, all-in-all, this oldest cricket encounter between the two leading schools in the Southern Province should provide entertaining cricket for the present boys, old boys of either school and well wishers who flock to the picturesque Galle Stadium. Yasodha Lanka is the only coloursman in the Richmond side, playing in his fifth year. He captained his school in 2009.

Yasodha struck a fine double hundred (213) in a Test against the England Under 19. He is also a more than a useful left arm ‘chinaman’ bowler who could mesmerise the batsman.

Skipper Dananjaya de Silva besides his impressive record against the British youngsters (two half centuries) has struck three centuries during the school season. His recent 197 against St.Aloysius in their last outing prior to the ‘big’ match has shown that he is a man in form.

De Silva and Yasodha Lanka with their experience against international exposure, should provide the backbone of the Richmondites with their impressive allround displays.

De Silva as a bowler, like Yasodha Lanka, is an off-spinner who has taken over 50 wickets during the season despite not being in the side regularly due the committment with the Under 19 National team.

Dileepa Priyadharshana is an off-spinner who has captured over 50 wickets and with the fast bowlers Vimukthi Umagiliya and Kavindu Thimud who have spearheaded the medium pace attack, Richmond could look forward to a fine display.

Mahinda College on the otherhand has an unbeaten record, winning against Dharmasoka Ambalangoda and the Matara Thomians in the 13 matches played during the season. Skipper Kaushalya Gajasinghe is their top performer.

The others, deputy skipper Sachit Lakmal with a century against Dharmaraja has passed the 400 run mark, Sohan Kariyawasam a budding all-rounder and Chandu Piripun have contributed generously to the success of the side during the season.

In the 16 matches played this season, Richmond has defeated St.Aloysius and lost to Lumbini and Ananda. The two schools have met on 105 occasions previouly and Richmond has won 21 encounters to Mahinda’s 23.

The highest individual score in the series belongs to P.H.K.H. Ranasinghe (162) of Mahinda in 1972. Mahindian Somasiri Ambawatta’s all ten wickets in an innings (10 for 48), a monumental effort in 1948 stands as the best bowling effort that cannot be surpassed in terms of the number of wickets in an Innings.

Mahinda last won in 2008 after 30 years while Richmond has not won since 1969.


Richmond College: Dananjaya de Silva (Captain), Sithara Gimhana, Pabasara Waduge, Yasodha Lanka, Mahesh Sandaruwan, Dileepa Priyadharshan, Hasitha Madushan, Vimukthi Umagiliya, Kasun Chamara, Silasa Gimhan, Kavindu Thimud, Thisara Bhanuka, Chamod Piyumal.

Mahinda College: Kaushalya Gajasinghe( Captain), Udara Jayasanka Ranasinghe, Chalana de Silva, Nirwantha Thilshila, Hashan Kumuditha, Sohan Kariyawasam, Chandu Piripun, Dilan Buddhika, Indeera Gallage, Sadik Kumara, N. Kalhara Gunaratne, Hasitha Sandaruwan, Dinidu Sampath. Malith Mahela.

 Mahinda College. Seated (from left): Chalana de Silva, Harsha Munasinghe (Coach), Udara Jayaseekra, J.M.Munasinghe (Deputy Principal Sports), Kaushalya Gajasinghe (Captain), R.M.Werahera (Principal), Sachit Lakmal(V.Captain), K.M.D.Prasad (Master-In-Charge), Nirwantha Thikshila. Second row (from left): Heshan Kumuditha, Sadik Kumara, Nishad Kalhara, Benuka Waduge, Dinidu Sampath, Hasitha Sandaruwan, Dilan Buddhika, Chanuka Udara, Lakshan Thotagamuwa, Indeera Gallage, Sohan Kariyawasam. Third row (from left): Chandu Piripun, Thamith Kalhara, Yokshita Dilhan, Malith Mahela, H. Prabath, Ashan Munawvira.

Richmond College. Seated (from left): Mahesh Sandaruwan, Dammika Sudarshana (Coach), Gamini Jayawardene (Deputy Principal), Pabasara Waduge (V.Captain), E.M.S.Ekanayake (Principal), Dhananjaya de Silva(Captain), Damith Prasanna (Master-In-Charge), Yasodha Lanka. Second Row (from left): Thisara Bhanuka, Sithara Gimhan, Kalana Sasanka, A.K.Tyronne, Vimukthi Umagiliya, Chamod Piyumal, Supun Dissanayake, Kavindu Thimuth, Kasun Chamara, Dileepa Priyadharshana, Suresh Ranjula, Hassitha Madushan, Damith Lakmihiran.


Donate Now |
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior | Magazine |


Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor