Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 27 March 2011





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Observer Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year 2011:

Another change - Rambukwella leads Rajapaksa now by 260 votes in All-Island Contest

Picking the lucky winners.... D. Kamal Wijesuriya, DGM Printing and Maintenance ANCL (On left) and Sarath Mandalawatta, Secretary/Head of Division Fund Management ANCL pick the coupons for the readers prize at the end of count number 11 in the Observer/Mobitel Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of The Year competition. Pic. Vipula Amerasinghe

While the race between teammates, Bhanuka Rajapakse and Ramith Rambukwella of Royal College is hotting up in the All Island contest, of the Observer/Mobitel Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer Contest, there was a major change in the Outstation category when the captain of Dharmaraja College, Kandy Hemal Munaweera who was originally not in the running, entered the competition polling over 7000 votes to be placed at number 8.

He has pulled 7,599 votes. K. Gamage of Vidyartha College, Kandy went two steps up to be placed at number 6 with 14, 229 votes at the end of count number 11 in the outstation regiment of the contest 2011.

In the Outstation category, St.Servatius' Sanjika Ridma who took the top spot last week, has been pushed down to number two by Royal Panadura's Dushan Vimukthi, who occupies the top spot with 35,071 votes.

Ridma is presently second with 34,998 and Maris Stella's Chatura Dilshan is presently third with 34,623 votes. The top three in the Outstation section have all got a chance of hitting the top spot.


Winners of cash prizes in the weekly draw

1. Rs. 2,500.00 - Gamini Werellagama, 23/1 A, Vidyala Mawatha, Nugawela.

2. Rs. 1,500.00 -Naleef Brian, No. 4, 1st, Lane, Ampara.

3. Rs.1,000.00 - K.P. Jayawardena, 7/2 Ruwanpura, Matara.

Winners of T-shirts in the weekly draw:

1. Matheesha Buddi, Sanghabodhi College, Gampaha.

2. Dinusha Rupasinghe, 36/1, Amunugoda, Imbulgoda.

3. O.B. Jamaldeen, 19/10 A, Galwala Para, Pitakotte.

Only the winners of T-shirts please call over on a week day at the ANCL reception to collect your gift. Cheques for the winners of cash prizes will be posted in due course. Voters are kindly requested to write their names and addresses clearly while sending their coupons.



Donate Now |
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior | Magazine |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor