Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 10 July 2011





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Ananda - All Island ‘B’ div. cager champs

BASKET-BALL: Ananda College emerged champions at the All Island Under 17 ‘B’ divisions Basketball Championship, when they beat Kingswood College Kandy by 67 points to 22 points in the final played at Kingswood College, Kandy on 21st June.

At half-time, Anandian’s led 31-12. The Anandians dominated the 1st quarter leading 17-7 and one expected the home team to stage a comeback in the next quarter which too went to the Anandians 14-5. When the 3rd quarter was completed, the Anandian’s had built-up a good lead of 56-18 and the result was never in doubt.

The top shooters for Ananda College were: Dilka Sakuranga (17), skipper Avishka Siriwardana (10), and Sachin Wijayasinghe (8). For Kingswood, it was the lone sharp shooting of skipper Thishika Walisundara (16) which made the bulk of the scoring.

The awards: Most valuable player: Dilka Sakuranga (Ananda)Most Defensive Player: Missaka Munasinghe (Ananda )

Most Offensive Player: Thishika Walisundara (Kingswood)

Standing (from left): Shriyantha Jayaweera (Consultant), Dilka Sakuranga, Missaka Munasinghe, Sanju Jayaratne, Muditha Gunasekara (V.Capt.) L.M.D. Dharmasena (President Sri Lanka School’s Basketball Association and Principal Ananda College) Avishka Siriwardana (Capt), Kumara Rodrigo (Deputy Principal), Sachin Wijayasinghe, Nisal Balasuriya, Yohan Vithanage, Sampath Herath (Coach), Gaya Kirihena (Teacher-In-charge)

Sri Lanka Youth Under 19 Badminton Team for Asian Youth Championships in India left on June 30. The team – Standing (from left): Upuli Weerasinghe (Sirimavo Bandaranayake B.V). Thilini Hendahewa (Visakha Vidyalaya), Omal Dharmawardena (S. Thomas’ College), Damitha Yatawara (D.S. Senanayake College), Kavidi Sirimannage (Sirimavo Bandaranayake B.V) Seated (from left): P. Rakhitha Perera (Ananda College) Captain of boys team: Malika Waduge (Lady Chaperone) Ramyanath Ratnayake – Team Manager, Shimal Aponso – Coach, Achini Rathnasiri (Visakha Vidyalaya)- Captain girls team. Absent: Chamika Karunaratne (Royal College). Picture by Upananda Jayasundera – Kandy Sports Special Cor.



LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now |

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior | Magazine |


Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor