## Atrocities by LTTE terrorists



It is still fresh in people's minds how LTTE terrorists carried out some of the most brutal bomb attacks and massacred Sinhala, Tamil and Muslim civilians during their three-decades of terror.

This Sunday Observer graphic series highlights how the Tigers carried out their brutal terror acts in the guise of the so-called liberation until they were crushed militarily by our valiant Security Forces by May 18, 2009.

June 16, 2006: The funerals of 64 civilians, who were brutally killed in twin claymore attacks on a passenger transport bus plying from Kanugahawewa to Kebithigollewa took place at the Kebithigollewa cemetery. The bodies of the victims including fifteen children and a Buddhist monk were lying at the Kebithigollewa Maha Vidyalaya where representatives of Buddhist and Christian clergy, various political parties, relatives and friends of the deceased paid their last respects.

June 16, 2008: A suspected LTTE suicide bomber on a motorbike blew himself up in front of a Police building in Vavuniya, killing 12 police personnel, including three female Police officers and wounding 23. The suicide bomber blew himself up in front of the SSP office complex in Vavuniya targeting the Police personnel leaving the SSP's office

for duty along the Vavuniya-Medawachchiya main road.

June 18, 2006: Three policemen were killed in powerful anti-personnel mine attack the LTTE at Dutuwewa, Kebethigollewa. The policemen were transporting drinking water to the Vavuniya police station. The terrorists had placed the mine on the road targeting the police water bowser.

June 18, 2008: The Security Forces averted a major disaster as a booby trapped hand grenade, cleverly fixed inside a bus plying from Avissawella to Colombo, was safely defused by Special Task Force (STF) personnel at Slave Island. The hand grenade had been fixed to a seat by a wire so that anyone tripping over it would set off the blast.



 June 19, 1990: Jaffna District MP
V. K. Yogasangari was killed in an LTTE grenade attack in Kodambakam, Chennai.

June 19, 1990: K. Pathmanaba, leader of the EPRLF was killed by LTTE terrorists in Kodambakam, Chennai.

June 19, 1990: Former Finance Minister of North Eastern Provincial Council, P. Kirubakaran was killed by Tiger terrorists in the Tamil Nadu capital.

June 19, 2008: Investigations disclosed that the LTTE had been responsible for the killing of former STF Training Director SSP Upul Seneviratne in a claymore mine explosion in Digana. The LTTE had been on his trail for nearly six months before setting off the claymore mine at his home village Digana when he visited his family for the weekend.

■ June 21, 1986: A group of armed LTTE terrorists stormed Wilgamwehera hamlet in Trincomalee district and butchered nine civilians including children. The terrorists used sharp weapons to kill and maim the innocent civilians to inflict maximum horror on the victims and onlookers. The terror stricken civilians started vacating the ancient villages they lived for generations and started moving towards the south.

■ June 21, 1987: A group of LTTE terrorists with small arms raided the ancient Sinhala hamlet of Godapotha in Polonnaruwa. Eight villagers were killed and one was found with serious injuries. The terrorist failed to kill the intended number as the civilians sleep in jungle hideouts at night due to terrorist threats.



**June 21, 1991**: At least twenty-one people were killed and more than 175 sustained injuries when an LTTE suicide bomber drove a truck, laden with explosives, into the Joint Operations Command Office at the Flower Road in Colombo 7.



■ June 22, 2006: It was reported that the LTTE has earned over Rs. 40 million by way of taxes imposed on goods sent to the North for civilians in Jaffna passing through the LTTE checkpoint in Puliyankulam during the first four months of 2006.



The freedom enjoyed by one and all today had been achieved due to the supreme sacrifices by the Security Forces, the political sagacity of President Mahinda Rajapaksa and the military strategies of Defence Secretary Gotabaya Rajapaksa.



