

President Mahinda Rajapaksa and First Lady Shiranthi Rajapaksa being received by Prime Minister D.M. Jayaratne and Public Administration and Home Affairs Minister W. D. J. Seneviratne



Independence Day celebrations



Prime Minister D.M. Jayaratne, First Lady Shiranthi Rajapaksa, Parliamentarian Namal Rajapaksa, Lieutenant Yoshitha Rajapaksa and Rohitha Rajapaksa



Observing a minute's silence in honour of fallen War Heroes



President Rajapaksa hoists the National Flag

Uva Province Chief Minister Shashendra Rajapaksa, Western Province Governor Alavi Mowlana, Southern Province Governor Kumari Balasuriya and other special guests.

Defence and Urban Development Ministry Secretary Gotabaya Rajapaksa and other special guests.



A section of the crowd.



The President being escorted to the special dais by the Chief of Defence Staff, Three Service Commanders and the Inspector Gen-



Gun salute.



Massive crowds gathered to witness the march past by services personnel.



A section of the foreign diplomats.





