Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 24 May 2015





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Sri Lanka women win first T20

Sri Lanka Women’s edged out their West Indian counterparts by five runs on the Duckworth/ Lewis method in the rain-hit first Twenty /20 cricket match in the three-match series, played at the R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo yesterday.

The home team were 88-6 in 15.2 overs, when rain hampered the proceedings around 1.30pm.

Chasing a 110-run target in 20 overs, Sri Lanka Women lost Yasodha Mendis for nought due to lack of communication between the two batswomen.

One down batswoman Dilani Manodara, played a match-winning 21-ball 28 runs, hitting three fours and a six. Wicket-keeper Manodara, who is good at pulling and cutting, added a brisk 46 runs for the second wicket with skipper Atapattu.

After a resourceful stand from the duo which turned the match in Sri Lanka’s favourthe Lankan lasses slumped to 5-60, losing four wickets for nine runs.

The visitors struck twice in successive balls in the ninth over. Manodara was trapped in front after the right- hander played across the line. Vice captain Eshani Lokusuriya scored a rapid 17 from 19 balls including two fours. Former skipper Shashikala Siriwardene (17 not out) and Sripali Weerakkody (3 not out) batted sensibly till the end.

Earlier, after being put into bat, the tourists were restricted for 109 runs before it rained in the last ball. Opener Stafanie Taylor was the top scorer of the match (40 off 41 balls). Taylor hit four boundaries. Sripali Weerakkody, who took the first two wickets, put West Indies Women under pressure in the first over, removing in-form Deandra Dottin (4) and opener Kycia Knight (4), who was clean bowled.


West Indies Women innings 
Kycia Knight b Weerakkody	 			04
Stafanie Taylor c Lokusuriyage b Kumari 		40
Deandra Dottin c Hansika b Weerakkody 			04
Britney Cooper c Mendis b Prabodhani 			17
Stacy-Ann King lbw b Lokusuriyage 			01
Merissa Aguilleria not out 				28
Chinelle Henry c Mendis b Siriwardene 			11
Extras (lb 1, w 3) 					04
TOTAL (6 wickets; 20 overs)			       109 

Did not bat: Subrina Munroe, Anisa Mohammed, Tremayne Smartt, Afy Fletcher. 
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Knight, 0.2 ov), 2-8 (Dottin, 0.4 ov), 3-40 (Cooper
		 8.2 ov), 4-45 (King, 9.3 ov), 5-90 (Taylor, 16.3 ov)
		 6-109 (Henry, 19.6 ov)
Bowling: Weerakkody 3-0-13-2
	 Prabodhani 4-0-19-1
	 Samuddika 4-0-24-0 (1w)
	 Lokusuriyage 2-0-11-1 (1w)
	 Kumari 3-0-21-1 (1w)
	 Siriwardene 4-0-20-1

Sri Lanka Women innings 
Chamari Atapattu c & b Mohammed 			17
Yasodha Mendis run out (Mohammed/Aguilleira) 		00
Dilani Manodara lbw b Fletcher 				28
Nipuni Hansika b King 					00
Shashikala Siriwardene not out 				17
Hasini Perera c & b King 				00
Eshani Lokusuriyage c Henry b Mohammed 			16
Sripali Weerakkody not out	 			03
Extras (b 1, w 5, nb 1) 				07
TOTAL (6 wickets; 15.2 over) 				88

Did not bat: Udeshika Prabodhani, Sugandika Kumari, Maduri Samuddika. 
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Mendis, 1.3 ov), 2-52 (Atapattu, 7.6 ov)
		 3-52 (Manodara, 8.1 ov), 4-60 (Hansika, 9.3 ov)
		 5-60 (Perera, 9.5 ov), 6-81 (Lokusuriyage, 12.6 ov)
Bowling: Smartt 3-0-15-0 (1nb)
 	 Taylor 3-0-15-0
	 Munroe 1-0-12-0
	 Mohammed 3.2-0-15-2
	 Fletcher 2-0-14-1
	 King 3-0-16-2

LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lank
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now |

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | World | Obituaries | Junior | Youth |


Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2015 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor