Community



Sathsara Bathi Gee – II

Sathsara Bathi Gee II, a CD and cassette of hymns produced by Rev. Fr. Victor Silva was launched at St. John Mary Vianney Seminary Chapel, Mattakkuliya. Chairman of the Jetwing group Hiran Cooray and Mrs Cooray were the chief guests and the former director of the Archdiocesan Mass Media and Social Communication Rev. Fr. Benedict Joseph was the chief guest. Veteran music director Somapala Rathnayaka was the music director of the hymns. Lyrics and music were by Fr. Victor Silva. Here the choir sings a hymn from the Sathsara Bathi Gee II program.

New building unveiled



A three-storeyed building worth Rs. 16 million was donated to Mahinda College, Galle as a token of gratitude to the college by chartered engineer Raja Nanayakkara (Jagath), Chairman and Managing Director of Nanayakkara Earth Movers, an old boy of the school. The new building which was opened on July 2 has been named D.P. Nanayakkara Memorial Mansion. It was opened by his mother Mrs. N. Nanayakkara in commemoration of his father. The new building consists of a computer laboratory and an institute of international language study. At right, the new building.

New Technical lab



Former Deputy Minister Thilanga Sumathipala opened the newly constructed Technical Laboratory of Vipulananda Tamil Maha Vidyalayam, Dematagoda, Colombo 9 recently. Here the Chief Guest and the invitees being conducted to the venue. Former Deputy Minister Praba Ganeshan, Mohamed Faiz WPC and Principal, S.S. Hanmuganathan were present.

Pic: A. Maduraveeran, Colombo North Gr. Cor.

Assistance for low income families



Medicine, essential food items and financial assistance were distributed among low income families at Wadulawatta, Wellampitiya recently. The event was organised by the Disaster Management Ministry. Here A.H.M. Fowzie presents a gift parcel to a recipient. Ministry Secretary W.M. Bandusena looks on.

Pic: A. Maduraveeran, Colombo North Gr. Cor.

A sacred anniversary



Religious ceremonies were held to mark the 21st anniversary of planting a sapling of the most sacred Jayasri Maha Bodhiya, Anuradhapura at the Paramitha Sri Maha Bodhimalu Vihara, Gothatuwa, under the patronage of Viharadhipathi Ven. Arama Sri Dhammatilleke Nayake Thera recently. Here Kolonnawa Divisional Secretary Mrs. A.U.K. Dodamwala and Vihara Development Society President Kashyapa Mahendra de Silva prepare the Muruthan pooja.

EVENTS

'The Streets of Paris' photo expo

The Embassy of France in Sri Lanka and the Alliance Francaise de Kotte present *Nostalgie05 – The Streets of Paris –* as part of the French Spring Festival 2015.

The exhibition of black and white photographs by media personality Kumar de Silva brings the streets of Paris to life. It is open to the public free from 10.00 a.m. to 7.00 p.m. today, 12 at the Lionel Wendt Art Gallery. All profits from the sale of photographs will go to the Scholarship Fund of the children of the award-winning 'Nation'/'Rivira' press photographer, the late Rukshan Abeywansa.

Piano donation ceremony

The Embassy of the Republic of Korea hosted a Piano Donation Ceremony on July 8 at the Embassy premises. Two pianos were presented to the Mahathma Gandhi International Centre of Matale and the Matale Muttumari Amma Hindu Temple following a request by the Mayor of Matale, during the Ambassador's visit to the Matale Municipal Council.

Walk to mark 200 years

A walk will be held on Saturday, July 18 at 7.30 a.m. from Christ Church, Mutwal to St. Thomas Church, Ginthupitiya, Colombo 13 to mark the 200th anniversary of St. Thomas' Church. The walk will be followed by a service at 9.00 am.

Home Makers' Haven 2015

Home Makers' Haven 2015, a fundraiser organised by the Sri Lanka Housewives' Association will be held on Saturday, August 1st at the Kingsbury Hotel. It will comprise music, dances, comic skits, fashion spots and prizes and surprises on several draws.

OFFICE-BEARERS

Ceylon Estates Staffs' Union

Chairman: K.H.A.S. Wickramaratne Deputy Chairman: D.M. Chandrasekara

Vice Chairmen: A.M.T.B. Abeykoon and J.M.B. Ratnayake

Secretary: A.P. Liyanage Treasurer: R.A.D. Ruwankula

Council Members: P.W.Y. Bandara and

S.B. Wijekoon Auditor: Henry Abeywickrama

Flag-hoisting ceremony



Colombo 13 was held under the guidance of the Chief Priest Rev. S. Sivanesan Sarma. Rev. Vishva Narayanak Kurukkal and Sivashri C. Chandrakumar Kurukkal participated.

Pic: A. Maduraveeran, Colombo North Gr. Cor.

Presidential scholarships awarded



The Presidential Scholarship awards ceremony was organised by the Zonal Education office, Akkaraipattu recently. The program aims to help students of poor families who excelled at the GCE Ordinary Level examination. Here, Zonal Education Office Accountant K. Rizvi Yahzar hands over the cheque to a student.

Pic: I.L.M. Rizan. Addalaichenai Central Cor.

All Ceylon YMMA convention

The All Ceylon YMMA Conference held its 65th Annual Convention at the University Grants Commission Auditorium Colombo recently. Here National President of the YMMA M.T. Thahasim presents a memento to the chief guest Former Minister Dr. Rajitha Senaratne. Secretary M.N.M. Naphiel, Treasurer M.S.M. Rismy and Chairman of the Board of Trustees Haleem A. Azeez were also present. Pic. By Ruzaik Farook.





Winner gets the trophy

A six-a-side cricket tournament to mark the 110th commemoration of De La Salle College, Modera, Colombo 15 organised by the Old Boys' Union of the College was held at the Muthuwella playgrounds last week. The '1998 batch' cricket team won the championship. Here the team captain Sanath Silva receives the Challenge Trophy from Saman Fernando. The Principal Rev. Fr. Newman Muthuthamby, OBU Secretary, Joseph Jeyaraj and President, Sports Committee Selvin Fernando are also in the picture.

Pic: A. Maduraveeran, Colombo North Gr. Cor.

Bible Quiz Winners



The under-16 team of Welisara Union Church, emerged all island champions of the 51st annual All-Island Bible Quiz 2015 organised by the Bible Quiz Ministry. Warren Jeyakumar won the all island Best Performer award. Here the team members: Warren Jeyakumar, Nisal Wickramasinghe, Rahul Rajaratnam, Charishma Augustine and Sheshan Abraham.