Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 27 September 2015





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Sri Lanka to face West Indies babes

Only one batsman with 3000 runs, two bowlers with 100 wickets and eight players with less than 10 or no Tests:

In reality Sri Lanka’s downhearted cricketers will be facing an opposing West Indies team that has just five experienced Test players while eight tour party members have played less than 10 matches or are yet to make their debuts in the traditional format of the game.

The captain of the team 23-year old allrounder Jason Holder has himself played just eight Tests or 14 innings scoring 380 runs and taking just 16 wickets with his right arm pace.

The five players with any worthwhile experiences are batsman Marlon Samuels who will arrive in Sri Lanka on Thursday with the highest run aggregate of 3557 runs from 59 Tests, wicket keeper Denish Ramdin with 69 Tests, Darren Bravo with 37 Tests and fast bowlers Jerome Taylor 41 Tests and 122 wickets and Kemar Roach with 32 Tests and 120 wickets.

The youngest in the tour party will be 20-year old Jomel Warrican, a left arm spinner who is yet to make his debut with 66 scalps from 15 first class matches.

Another uncapped player is Rajendra Chandrika (26), a right hand batsman who has played just one Test (against Australia) and is yet to score.

One other player, an allrounder Carlos Braithwaite has played in only four ODIs with a highest score of 11 runs for an aggregate of 27.

Some of the other players with very little to go by are batsman Shane Dowrich (23) who has played in just four Test innings for an aggregate of 102 runs, Jermaine Blackwood (23) with 619 runs from 18 Test innings and Shai Hope (21) with a tally of 94 runs from six Test innings.

In addition the West Indies also have fast bowler Shannon Gabriel (27) who has taken a mere 32 wickets from 25 Tests and leg spinner Devindra Bishoo who has taken 50 wickets from 13 Tests.

The West Indies will play two Tests, three ODIs and two T20s on their tour of Sri Lanka.

The squad:

Jason Holder (Captain), Kraigg Brathwaite (Vice Captain), Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Rajendra Chandrika, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shai Hope, Denesh Ramdin, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor and Jomel Warrican

Match schedule:

October 14-18: First Test in Galle

October 22-26: Second Test P. Sara Oval, Colombo

November 1: First ODI Premadasa stadium (day/night)

November 4: Second ODI Premadasa stadium (day/night)

November 7: Third ODI at Pallekele (day/night)

November 9: First T20 International at Pallekele

November 12: Second T20 International at Premadasa stadium, Colombo


Daily News & Sunday Observer subscriptions
eMobile Adz

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | World | Obituaries | Junior |


Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2015 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor