Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 31 January 2016





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

A meeting of Anaesthesiologists and Intensivists

The 32nd Annual Academic Congress of the College of Anaesthesiologists and Intensivists of Sri Lanka which got underway at Cinnamon Grand on January 27 saw the ceremonial induction of the new President of the College, Dr. Kanishka Indraratna, Senior Consultant Anaesthesiologist at the Sri Jayewardenepura General Hospital, at the inaugural session on January 29. Scheduled to end on Monday, February 1, 2016, the theme of the Congress this year is 'Improving outcome through Safety and Knowledge'.

The College of Anaesthesiologists and Intensivists is the primary body in charge of teaching and training of doctors in anaesthesiology, critical care and pain relief. It is also responsible for training of nurses in these specialties as well as setting standards for care quality and safety in the operating theatres and intensive care units.

Prof Michael Mythen, council member of the Royal College of Anaesthetists, Smiths Medical Professor of Anaesthesia and Critical Care and Head of National Institute of Academic Anaesthesia Board (UK) graced the occasion as Chief Guest.

The Guests of Honour were Dr. David Wilkinson, President World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists and Dr. Harshi Boralessa, Consultant Anaesthetist (UK). The prestigious Dr. B.S.Perera Oration was delivered by Prof. Richard Langford, Past President British Pain Society. An internationally reputed panel of speakers numbering over forty are enhancing the calibre of the Annual Sessions in terms of academic and educational content.

The Royal College of Anaesthetists (UK) has granted 12 Continuous Professional Development (CPD) points for the Congress, which has attracted many international delegates as well.

Other heads of Associations attending the congress are Prof. Ellen O'Sullivan, President College of Anaesthetists Ireland and Vice President Association of Anaesthetists Great Britain and Ireland and Immediate Past President World Difficult Airway Society, Dr. Helen Higham President International Simulation Society and Head Oxford University Simulation Centre, Dr. Roshan Fernando President Obstetric Anaesthetists Association UK, Prof. Michael Ramsay Former President International transplant Society, Dr. Alistair Lee Secretary International liver transplant society, Dr. Ross Freebairn immediate past president Australian and New Zealand Critical Care Society, Dr. Bernadette Ratnayake President Elect Orthopaedic Anaesthetists Association UK, Dr. Francis Lee former International President WINFOCUS, and Nick Thomas President British Skull base society.


eMobile Adz

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | World | Obituaries | Junior |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2016 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor