Ranjan Madugalle - Royal College,
Schoolboy Cricketer - 1979





  1. Saman Amerasinghe
    President, ACUSSL / Chairman Selection Committee, SLSCA

  2. M. T. A. Rauff
    General Secretary, SLSCA

  3. Dilshan de Silva
    General Secretary, ACUSL

  4. Ignatitus Anandappa
    Administrative Secretary

  5. J.W.K Boteju
    Assignment Secretary, ACUSSL

  6. Roshan Karunarathna
    Vice President, SLSCA

  7. Kapila Jayalath
    Treasurer, SLSCA / Vice President ACUSL

  8. Nihal Fernando
    Tournament Secretary , SLSCA

  9. S.B.N.S.K Semesinghe
    Assignment Secretary, ACUSSL

  10. Amerajeewa Disanayake
    Central Province, ACUSSL

  11. U. G. Saman
    Assignment Secretary Southern Province

  12. N. A. Saman Mohan
    Secretary Southern Province, ACUSSL

  13. Sisita Weerasinghe
    Assignment Secretary Kurunagala, ACUSSL

  14. H. S. Peiris
    Administrative Manager, SLSCA

  15. D. S. de Silva


Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Limited and the Observer should be complemented for keeping the show going for all these years. Sponsors are essential to keep the show going. May the show continue for many years to come.

In the past, most of the winners of the top awards came from Colombo and its suburbs, but now, the outstation schools have come in a big way and it is a positive sign for the game.

Ranjan Madugalle
ICC Chief Match Referee & Former Sri Lanka captain


It is the dream of any schoolboy cricketer to win the Observer Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year award. It's great for the Sunday Observer in continuing the Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year Contest for the 31st year from 1979 to encourage the budding schoolboy cricketers. I was particularly happy to see that the Northern Province will join up with the others in the competitions at the contest.

I am happy at the improvement of outstation cricket as the game has spread far and wide in the country. Many Sri Lankan cricketing giants of the past and the present are those who have either won the prestigious and coveted Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year Award or one of the many awards presented at the contest.

Arjuna Ranatunga
World Cup winning Captain


The Observer Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year contest gave all the encouragement for me to forge ahead in the cricket world since I won the title in 1990 and also became the Best Batsman.

I would like to compliment the ANCL and Sunday Observer for keeping the show going for all these years. Schoolboy cricketers should be encouraged on a larger scale. This contest is sure to identify the talent and the high performances. I am confident that the up-and-coming schoolboy cricketers follow the same example set by those who won top awards at the contest.

Marvan Atapattu
Former Sri Lanka captain

Produced by Lake House Copyright - 2009 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor