Ranjan Madugalle - Royal College,
Schoolboy Cricketer - 1979




Angelo Perera

St. Peter’s College

S.H. Indunil Kumara

Devapathiraja Vidyalaya, Ratgama

All-Island Contest

  1. Angelo Perera - 37456
    St. Peter’s College 

  2. Naveen Kavikara - 25423
    D.S. Senanayake College

  3. Charith Jayampathi - 17747
    D.S. Senanayake College

  4. Yasith Abeykoon - 7741
    Royal College

  5. Buwanaka Ekanayake - 7440
    Dharmaraja College

  6. Isham Ghouse - 5412 
    Zahira College, Colombo

  7. Dinesh Chandimal - 4250 
    Ananda College

  8. Waruna Fernando - 3196 
    St. Benedict’s College

  9. Sahan Palihakkara - 2090 
    St. Anthony’s Kandy

  10. Nishika de Silva - 1061
    St. Joseph’s College)


Outstation Contest

  1. S.H. Indunil Kumara - 37036
    Devapathiraja Vidyalaya, Ratgama

  2. K. Wickremarachchi - 22022
    Gamini MMV, Bentota

  3. Malinda Samarasekera - 15564
    Maris Stella College

  4. Amila Tillekeratne - 5015
    Sri Rahula MV

  5. Shehan Silva - 3582
    Joseph Vaz College

  6. Zakir Hussain - 3031
    Azhar College, Akurana 

  7. Nuwan Abeyratne - 2348
    Sri Sumangala College

  8. Rashmika Perera - 1264
    Sri Dhammaloka College, Kelaniya

  9. Gayan Maneshan - 1058
    Maliyadeva College

  10. Chandimal Pathirana - 874
    St. Anne’s College


Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Limited and the Observer should be complemented for keeping the show going for all these years. Sponsors are essential to keep the show going. May the show continue for many years to come.

In the past, most of the winners of the top awards came from Colombo and its suburbs, but now, the outstation schools have come in a big way and it is a positive sign for the game.

Ranjan Madugalle
ICC Chief Match Referee & Former Sri Lanka captain


It is the dream of any schoolboy cricketer to win the Observer Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year award. It's great for the Sunday Observer in continuing the Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year Contest for the 31st year from 1979 to encourage the budding schoolboy cricketers. I was particularly happy to see that the Northern Province will join up with the others in the competitions at the contest.

I am happy at the improvement of outstation cricket as the game has spread far and wide in the country. Many Sri Lankan cricketing giants of the past and the present are those who have either won the prestigious and coveted Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year Award or one of the many awards presented at the contest.

Arjuna Ranatunga
World Cup winning Captain


The Observer Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year contest gave all the encouragement for me to forge ahead in the cricket world since I won the title in 1990 and also became the Best Batsman.

I would like to compliment the ANCL and Sunday Observer for keeping the show going for all these years. Schoolboy cricketers should be encouraged on a larger scale. This contest is sure to identify the talent and the high performances. I am confident that the up-and-coming schoolboy cricketers follow the same example set by those who won top awards at the contest.

Marvan Atapattu
Former Sri Lanka captain

Produced by Lake House Copyright - 2009 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor