New NIE Council members nominated

By Manjula Fernando

Education Minister Akila Viraj Kariyawasam nominated new members to the National Institute of Education (NIE)ouncil, which he dissolved in a sudden move two weeks ago, claiming in-fighting and a lack of progress.

Director General, NIE Dr. Jayanthi Gunasekera told the Sunday Observer, that Minister Kariyawasam had nominated members but that she was awaiting consent letters from the nominees to finalise appointments.

“We need to get Council approval for some curriculum-related matters. We need the new Council in place to do that,” she added declining to name the new members.

Dr. Gunasekera said nominations for ex-officio positions too were yet to be made. The ex-officio positions are held by the Education Ministry Secretary, NIE DG and two nominees from the Higher Education Ministry and the Treasury. The Higher Education Ministry and the Treasury are yet to submit their nominations.

The Education Minister last week removed four eminent university academics Dr. Jayadeva Uyangoda, Dr.Nirmal Ranjith Devasiri, Prof. W. D. W. Jayathilaka and Prof. D. S. Epitawatta from the Council. It was claimed that long-standing disagreements crippled the functions of the Council and as a result it failed to deliver on its mandate to effectively develop the country’s general education sector.

SO News
SO Home
SO © 2008 -  2016 - Sri Lanka