Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 15 March 2015





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Rain, ultimate winner as Battle of the Blues fizzles

S Thomas’ College Ravindu Sasanka, receiving the Man of the match award from S Thomas’ College Warden Marc Billimoria at the persentation ceremony after the Battle of the Blues at the SSC grounds yesterday. Royal College Principal Upali Gunasekera looks on. Pic: Herbert Perera

Rain proved to be the ultimate winneras the 136th Battle Of The Blues cricket encounter betweenRoyal College and S.Thomas’ College fizzled out to a draw at the SSCgrounds yesterday.

The Thomians who began their inningsfrom their overnight 182 for 1 in reply to Royal’s 199 looked set for a substantial first innings lead with the two overnight batsmenRavindu Sasanka Kodituwakku 88 n.o and Nipuna Gamage 26 n.o addingexactly 100 runs for the second wicket.

The main focus in the morningsession was on Ravindu Sasanka who was approaching a well compiledcentury. Sasanka was ably supported by left hander Nipuna Gamage(48). The Thomians lost both Sasanka ( 95) and Gamage for (48) inthe quest of scoring quick runs. Sasanka could not beat HelithaVitharana’s throw after facing 236 deliveries with a dozen ofboundaries and Gamage suffered the same fate when Tennekoon ran himout for 48.

The second wicket pair of Sasanka andGamage added 88 runs in the morning of the third day with thedismissal of both the batsmen Chenutha Wickremasinghe (28) and Tharindu Ratnayake (15) saw the Thomians reach 270 for 7 declared.Off spinner Randev Pathiorana ( 4 for 71) was the pick of the Royalbowlers.

Royal College 1st Innings 199

S. Thomas’ College 1st Innings 
Yohan Mendis lbw b Randev Pathirana 			51
Ravindu Sasanka run out (Helitha Vitharana) 		95
Nipun Gamage run out (S.Tennekoon) 			48
Chenuka Wickremasinghe b ChamikaKarunaratne 		28
Tharindu Ratnayake c Vithanage b Pathirana 		15
Sachita Jayatileka c Panditharatne b Pathirana 		01
Helakamal Nanayakkara st. Dhanapala b Pathirana 	01
Extras. W.1 , Nb. 17, b.2 , Lb.3			23
Total. (for 7 wickets declared in 87.4 overs) 	       270

Did not bat: Danush Peiris, Navodh Fernando
	     SajanaDE Silva and Shenal de Silva 
Fall of wickets. 109, 209, 224, 259,260, 261, 270.
Bowling: Chamika Karunaratne 23-6-62-1
	 Himesh Ramanayake 11-2-38-0
	 Randev Pathirana 31.4 – 8-71-4
	 Lasith Embuldeniya 8-0-38-0
	 Helitha Vitharana 2-0-6-0
	 Harith Samarasinghe 5-2-12-0
	 Geeshat Panditharatne 1-0-2-0

Royal College 2nd innings 
Geeshat Panditharatne not out 				09
Hasith Samarasinghe c Mendis b Silva 			00
Thiran Dhanapala not out 				10
Extras 							00
TOTAL (1 wicket; 8 overs) 				19

Did not bat: Naveen Withanapathirana, Randev Pathirana
	     Chamika Karunaratne, Harith Samarasinghe
	     Helitha Vithanage, Hashen Ramanayake
	     Lasith Ambuldeniya, Shan Tennakoon
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Hasith Samarasinghe). 
Bowling: Hasanka Ratnayake 3-2-9-0
	 Senal de Silva 2-0-3-1
	 Sachitha Jayathilake 2-1-6-0
	 Nipun Gamage 1-0-1-0


Donate Now |
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lank
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior | Youth |


Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2015 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor