SUNDAY OBSERVER Sunday Observer - MagazineProvincial Council Elections  2004 - Results
Sunday, 11 July 2004  
The widest coverage in Sri Lanka.











Mihintalava - The Birthplace of Sri Lankan Buddhist Civilization

Silumina  on-line Edition

Govt. - LTTE Ceasefire Agreement

Government - Gazette

Daily News

Budusarana On-line Edition

Five eminent journalists honoured

by Jayampathy Jayasinghe

Journalism awards for excellence 2003, organised by the Editors' Guild of Sri Lanka started off with a big bang at the Empire Ballroom of the Mount Lavinia Hotel with journalists from media organisations who vied for honours. It took a while to announce the names of all winners. But elegant dance performances provided by Channa's group was a soothing balm that kept members of the fourth estate jubilant. The event ended with a cocktail and a buffet dinner.

Five distinguished journalists, W. R. Wijesoma, L. E. Samararatne, Elmo Gooneratne, T. M. Murugiah and S. Pathiravithana were honoured by the Editors' Guild.

The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Limited (ANCL) won several awards this time. Deputy Editor of Silumina, Nihal Abeysinghe won a special award. The Best Environmental Report of the Year award was won by Florence Wickramage of Daily News. Merit Award went to Shanika Sriyananda of the Sunday Observer. Denzil Peries Award for the Best Young Reporter was won by Warnajith Sumanasekera of the Dinamina. The D. R. Wijewardene Award for Earning the Appreciation of Peers and Public was won by Poddala Jayantha of the Silumina. Merit Award went to A.K.M. Pillai of Thinakaran.

The Mervyn de Silva Award for the Best Journalist of the Year was won by Kumudini Hettiarchchi of the Sunday Times. The award was bestowed on her by the Editor of the Mayalaya Manorama, Mamen Mathew. She also won the Merit Certificate of the Upali Wijewardena Award.

Special Awards went to Gamini Weerakoon of the Daily Island, S. Thillainathan - Jaffna Correspondent for the Virakesari newspaper. B. A. Siriwardena Award for Columnist of the Year was won by Rajpal Abeynayake of the Sunday Times and the Merit Award by Thimbiriyagama Bandara of the Ravaya newspaper.

The Best Journalist, (Sinhala, Tamil and English media) Award was won by Asuntha Siwemini Edirisuriya of Lakbima, Krisni Ifham Kanthasamy and Chris Kamalendran of the Sunday Times respectively.

The D. R. Wijewardena Merit Award for Earning the Appreciation of Peers and Public was won by Lasantha Ruhunage of Ravaya.

Upali Wijewardena Feature Writer of the Year award was won by Tissa Ravindra Perera of Lakbima. Prof. K. Kailasapathy Award for Reporting Under Special Circumstances was won by Daya Neththasinghe of Lanka.

D. B. Dhanapala Prize for Scoop of the Year was won by Ranjith Ananda Jayasinghe of Irida Lankadeepa and Vinitha M. Gamage of daily Lankadeepa.

Sports Journalist of the Year award was won by C. Vijitha Fernando of the Daily Mirror newspaper. Merit certificates were won by Marlon Fernandopulle of Sunday Times and Shamseer Jaleel of the Sunday Times.

Photographer of the Year award was won by K. Ganeshraj of Thinakkural newspaper. Merit certificate was won by Ashoka Peris of the Sunday Leader.

Cartoonist of the Year award was won by Dasa Hapuwalanage of Lankadeepa. Merit award was won by Wasantha Siriwardena of the Daily Mirror.

Best Designed Newspaper of the Year award went to Irida Lankadeepa.

Denzil Peiris award for Young Reporter of the Year (Merit Certificate) went to Vasana Wickremasena of the Daily Mirror and Chandra Prakash of Thinakkural.

News | Business | Features | Editorial | Security
Politics | World | Letters | Sports | Obituaries

Produced by Lake House
Copyright 2001 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.
Comments and suggestions to :Web Manager

Hosted by Lanka Com Services