Sunday Observer Online Ad Space Available HERE


Sunday, 23 November 2008





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

The Senior Brass Band of Devi Balika Vidyalaya became the champions at All Island schools' Western Music and Dance Competition - Wind Ensemble 2008 organized by the Ministry of Education.

Music has always had a special place in the hearts of the members of the Senior Brass Band.

Music is not only the food of love, but it also charms and soothes, the soul heart and the mind. Teamwork, dedication, unity, obedience, and discipline of the members of the band have brought this great achievement.

The senior brass band of Devi Balika Vidyalaya inaugurated in 1987. They became the champions at the national level competition in 2002. In the same year 10 members of the band were chosen to represent the school at "CELESTA" organized by the City Montessori School, Lucknow, India, where they became 1st runner-up in orchestral category.

They have organized "VIVACE BRASS" an indoor band fiesta, in 1999, 2001, 2004 and 2006.

Today they have made a steady progress completing 21 years of service under the guidance of Mrs. Varunie Gunasekara (The teacher in charge) Mrs. Shirmila Liyanage (Western Music Teacher), Mr. S. W. B. Edirisinghe and Mr. Chaminda Prabath (Instructors)

As music is a passion for the members of DBVSBB they are now ready for an Equilibrium of an unchanged revolution....

VIVACE BRASS 2009, an indoor band fiesta which is to be held on 24th of January 2009 at the BMICH.

1st Row: (Left to right): Sarah Perera (band leader), Mrs. Shermila Liyanage (Teacher-in-charge of Western Music), Mrs. Swarna Illeperuma (Assist. Principal), Mrs. Subashini Dematagoda (Deputy Principal), Mrs. Dhammika Jayanetti (Principal), Mrs. Karuna Gamage (Deputy Principal), Mrs. M. T. S. S. Herath (Deputy Principal), Mrs. Varunie Gunasekara (Teacher in charge), Kaneesha Punchihewa (band leader)

2nd Row (Left to right): Erangika Abeysirigunawardana (Senior), Himashi Wijeweera, Nikini Athukorala, Angara Madhubashini, Sandaru Silva (senior), Thejanie Hettiarachchi, Duneesha Weerasinghe, Manavi Thilakarathne, Pasanthi Wickramasinghe, Thilini Balapitiya (senior), Pavani Thilakarathne, Eresha Perera, Kithmini Wijesundara, Indeewari Rathnayake.

3rd Row (Left to right): Sandaruwani Kariyawasam, Shaleesa Sallay, Shamila Sallay, Thrishakya Dasanayake, Nethmi Senanayake, Savidya Alwis, Chomdhi Rathnasinghe, Chathurika Wijerathne, Himarsha Jayanetti, Sandeepa Lakmini, Navodi Jayawickrama, Thrishala Mahanama.


Gamin Gamata - Presidential Community & Welfare Service
Ceylinco Banyan Villas - news & information
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Donate Now |

| News | Editorial | Financial | Features | Political | Security | Spectrum | Impact | Sports | World | Plus | Magazine | Junior | Letters | Obituaries |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2008 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor