Sunday Observer Online
Ad Space Available HERE  


Sunday, 8 February 2009





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Sri Rahula, Katugastota runners excel

ROAD RACE: Sri Rahula College, Katugastota, runners excelled to win both the schools and women's open race while Army won the men's open race at the 9th annual road race of St. Sylvester's College organised in association with the Old Boys' Association of the school and worked off in Kandy.

Over 200 runners from all parts of the island participated in this race which was a tremendous success.

The performance of runners from Sri Rahula College, Katugastota was great that in the event for women and girls, they secured the first three places and in fact the first six runners from the top ten in this event was from this school. Sixteen-year-old W. M. Shashi Prabha Warnasuriya won this event. Sri Rahula College won the overall trophy for schools.

The boys' open race was won by D. M. Kamal Thillakaratne of Navodaya College, Kengalle.

The men's open race was won by Y. M. Nimal Shantha of Sri Lanka Army with K. D. Thushara Lakmal also from the Army securing the second position. Sri Lanka Army also won the overall championship for men. SSP Eric Perera, Director Traffic, Western Province North was the Chief Guest and he distributed the main awards with the Principal of the school Ranil Meetiyagoda and the President of the St. Sylvester's Old Boys Association Malcolm Sanjeewa Hulangamuwa and others.


Schools Girls Women's Open: 1. W. M. Shashi Prabha Warnasuriya, 2. Mihiri Kumari Sasanka, 3. M. V. Kaushalya Withanage (all from Sri Rahula College, Katugastota).

School Boy Race: 1. D. M. Kamal Thillakaratne (Navodaya College, Kengalle), 2. Subramaniam Dilip Kumar (Kalaimagal Tamil Vidyalaya), 3. J. M. J. Kumara Jayasundera (Vidyartha College).

Men's Open: Y. M. Nimal Shantha (Army), 2. K. D. Thushara Lakmal (Army), 3. K. H. M. C. B. Herath (Peradeniya University).

Inter Community Centres: 1. Sampath Bandara (Mahaiyawa CC), 2. D. A. N. Senaviratne (Mahaiyawa CC), 3. G. G. Jeewan Kumara (Gomes CC).



Gamin Gamata - Presidential Community & Welfare Service
Ceylinco Banyan Villas
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Donate Now |

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Review | Sports | World | Panorama | Junior | Letters | Obituaries |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2009 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor