Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 15 August 2010





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Royal, Ladies race through Beira Waters

ROWING: Royal College oarsmen raced through the waters in perfect style displaying their prowers to win the second S. Thomas' College Sprint Championship - T 500 Sprint Championships held at the Colombo Rowing Club, Beira Waters yesterday.

Royal who beat their opponents collected 9 points while the holders Thomians collected 8 points to be in second position. Ananda College with a point was third.

Yanithra Hallock and Amani Tissera of Ladies College won the Girls Double Sculls event with a time of 1.58 secs at the T 500 Sprint Championships Regatta held on the Beira Waters yesterday.
Pix Chinthaka Kumarasinghe

Jehan Samarasekera and Chirath Karunanayake gave the Royalists their first win when they won the Double Sculls defeating the Thomian Pair of Sajin De Livera and Sajeev de Silva with a time of 1.47 secs.

Sajeev de Silva of S. Thomas' who is selected to row at the Asian Games in China in November won the single scull with a time of 1.58 secs, defeating Jehan Samarasekera of Royal to second place.

At the end of the single and double sculls event tally of points equalled 6-all and in the main Coxed Fours Royal College crew of Chirath Karunanayake Ajmal Sideek, Jehan Samarasekera, Thivanka Jayatillake and Dhanushka Perera rowed with authority to beat the Thomian crew of Akshath Wickremanayake, Shavendra Goonatileke, Zydhney Fazaal, Milan and Amrick Varia returning time of 1.42 secs to collect 3 points and win the boys overall title. It was a fine race and a close finish with Thomians timing 1.43 secs. Ladies College oaraswomen retained the girls overall title with 9 points while Musaeus College took second slot with 7 points followed by Bishop's College in third place with 2 points.

Ladies won the Double Sculls, and in the Coxed Fours it was a home and home battle with Ladies College `B' crew winning over the `A' crew with a time of 1.26 secs.

The Sub Warden of S. Thomas' College, Harshana Perera was the chief guest.

Boys Results

Single Scull: Sajeev de Silva of S. Thomas' College beat Gehan Samarasekera of Royal. Time 1:58 secs.

Double Scull: Gehan Samarasekera and Chirath Karunanayake of Royal College beat Sajin de Livera and Sajeev de Silva of S. Thomas' College. Time 1.47 secs.

Coxed Fours: Chirath Karunanayake (B) Ajmal Sideek (2), Gehan Samarasekera (3), Thivanka Jayatilake (Cox) of Royal College beat Akshath Wickremanayake (B) Shavendra Goonetilleke (2), Zydhney (3), Milan Joseph (S) Amrick Yaria (Cox) of S. Thomas' College. Time - 1.42 secs.


Single Scull: Hiruni Mendis of Musaeus College beat Anukshi Sumanapala of Bishops College Time 2.24 secs.

Double Sculls: Hiruni Mendis and Swarnamali Wijesinghe of Musaeus College beat Yanithra Hallock and Amani Tissera of Ladies College. Time: 2.05 secs.

Coxed Fours: Sanchia Supramaniam (B), Anisha Gunasekera (2), Anishka Gomesz (3), Shiyanka de Zylva (5), Anjali Mahdawala Cox of Ladies College 'A' beat Sarani Jayawardena (B), Yanithra Hallock (2), Amani Tissera (3), Amaya Jayasuriya (S), Umaya Gunasena (Cox) of Ladies College 'B'. Time: 1.26 secs.

Invitation events

Mens Singles Scull: Gayan Jayaratne of Sri Lanka Air Force beat Dulip Maduranga of University of Colombo. Time: 2.04 secs.

Mens Double Sculls: Thisum Buddhika and Damith of University of Moratuwa beat Prabath de Silva and Dineshan Pakianathan of University of Colombo - Time: 1.58 secs.

Mens Coxed Fours: T. M. L. P. Tharanga, A. H. Gamini, R. M. U. Ranasinghe, K. D. Dassanayake, S. T. N. Batagolla of SL Air Force beat Ravindra Lamahewa, Prabath de Silva, Kanishka Madanayake, Dulip Maduranga, Prabath Perera of University of Colombo. Time: 1.52 secs.


Donate Now |
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Magazine | Junior | Obituaries |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2010 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor