Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 30 January 2011





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Wijesiri Triathlon Winner

The inaugural Sri Lanka open men's Triathlon Championship was won by B.L. Wijesiri of Seenigama Acqua Sports Club while W.A.D. Mallika Chandrakanthi of Sri Lanka Police won the women's open championship.

The event which was worked off at Tissamaharama lake yesterday consisted of 750 metres of swimming, 20 kms of cycling and 5 kms of marathon. The event had been organised by 'Tharunyata Hetak' organisation.

B.L. Wijesiri won the event in 1 hours 9 minutes and 24 seconds while G.G.P.K. Gamage of Civil Defence Force emerged runner-up by concluding the event in 1 h. 12 m. and 19 seconds. N.J. Ranasinghe of Sri Lanka Air Force became the 2nd runner-up when he crossed the finishing line in 1 h., 13 m and 24 seconds.

W.A.D. Mallika Chandrakanthi of Sri Lanka Police who was the only competitor in the women's triathlon event won the championship when she finished the event in 1 hour, 46 minutes and 06 seconds.

First Lady Shiranthi Rajapaksa gave away the Trophies and certificates to the winners at the end of the event. Tharunyata Hetak organisation Vice President Yoshitha Rajapaksa was also present at the occasion.

In Sailing and wind surfing events in the Carlton Super Sports 2011 too were concluded at Tissawewa yesterday.

Chamira Gunawardena of Sunshine Sports Club emerged champion in the men's open windsurfing while W.P. Krishan Janaka and W.A. Rosil Nishantha won the men's sailing open championship.

Sri Lanka Aquatic Sports Union, Athletic Association of Sri Lanka and Cycling Federation of Sri Lanka organised the events with the patronage of Tharunyata Hetak organisation.

Aluthgama Sunshine Water Sports Club dominated the windsurfing event while Sri Lanka Navy grabbed the 1st, 2nd and third places in the sailing event.

Event Results

[Windsurfing open]

Aluthgama Sunshine Water Sports Club

1. Chamira Gunawardena

2. Priyantha Gunawardena

3. Chaminda Silva

[Sailing open Sri Lanka Navy]

1. W.P. Krishan Janaka

W.A. Rosil Nishantha

2. R.P.I. Pushpakumara

W.P.U.S. Kumara

3. T.T.B. Kodithuwakku


Donate Now |
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior | Magazine |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor