Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 30 January 2011





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

In brief

Dinal, Rosco shine in drawn game

Josephian spinner Rosco Thattil (6 for77) and Thomian Javed Bongso (71) stole the limelight in the drawn school cricket encounter between St. Joseph's and S. Thomas' for the Gilmour Jayasuriya Trophy at Darley Road yesterday.

The Joes were all out for 172 on the first day and the Thomians were 52 for 4 overnight. On the second day the play was possible only at 1.30 pm due to a damp pitch.The Thomian Innings was woven by a steady 71 by left hander Javed Bongso with seven fours.

He was associated in a 74 runs eight wickets stand with Rishane Mathagaweera (39)

Left-arm medium pacer Dinal Dhambarage and Rosco Thattil shared the wickets for the Joes.

St. Joseph's:

172 (S.Hewawasam 55, N. Perera 35, Dylan Fernandopulle 22 n.o, D. Dissanayake 27, Chamod Pathirana 2 for 30, M. Ravichandrakumara 2 for 60, S. Perera 2 for 30).


52 for 4 overnight 234 in 77.1 overs (V. de Silva 20, Javed Bongso 71, Chamod Pathirana 30, Kavinda Perera 31, Rishan Mathagaweera 39, Dinal Dhambarage 3 for 64, Rosco Thattil 6 for 77). RA

Kandy YCC in control

Kandy Youths Cricket Club look set to register third first innings in as many matches on the first day of their P. Sara Trophy Cricket Trophy Cricket Tournament Match against Nugegoda Sports Club which began at Katubedda Campus grounds yesterday.

Nugegoda SC 147.

Nuwan Ratnayake 65, Praneeth Harshana 16, Chandima Abeykoon 3 for 37, Arvinda Premaratne 2 for 30, Prasad Ranawaka 4 for 30).

Kandy Youths CC 105 for 2. (Muditha Wijekoon 56 not out, Chamila Ambagaspitiya 24, Arvinda Premaratne 20 not out, R. Jayasekera 2 for 20)

Royal take major honours

Spinner Devin Padmanadan captured five wickets for 45 as Royal College took major honours over Dharmaraja College, Kandy in their inter-school under-19 cricket tournament match which ended in a draw at Reid Avenue yesterday.

Royal: 222 for 9 decl and 143 for 4 decl (I. Liyanage 78, H. Kumarasiri 24, L. Herath 2 for 56).

Dharmaraja: 194 (S. Weerakkody 57, S. Nanayakkara 23, D. Lanka 25, D. Padmanadan 5 for 45, S. Subasinghe 2 for 41) and 53 for 3). (CD)

Second junior ODI today

The Sri Lanka Under-19 Team will take on the touring England Under-19 Team in the second youth one-day international at the Colts ground in Havelock Park today.

The home side have already taken a one nil lead in the five match series after their 31-run victory on the Duckworth and Lewis scoring method in the first one day played on Friday at the same venue. (CD)

Singer MCA trophy final today

The semifinals of the 18th Singer MCA Centenary year Premier League knock-out cricket tournament will be worked off in Colombo today.

The League champions Sampath Bank who have received a bye into the semi-finals will take on Seylan Bank at the NCC ground in Maitland Place while Hatton National Bank will meet the last year's runners-up MAS Unichela at the P. Saravanamuttu (Oval). (CD)


Swimming pool for Vijitha Central College, Dickwella .... Principal Vijitha Central College Dhanushka Jayadeva (white suit) escorts Minister of Youth Affairs and Skills Development Dullus Alahapperuma accompanied by the school band to lay the foundation
stone for a eight lane 25-metre swimming gifted to the school by the Ministry of Sports. The swimming pool is expected to be completed in six months. Picture by Priyan de Silva - Matara Sports Corr.



Champs in a happy mood.... Mercantile Services women’s team in a happy mood after their fine win in the Women’s Basketball Nationals final. They beat Sri Lanka Navy by 58 points to 51 in the final. The girls are in a happy mood as they receive the Championship Trophy from Chief Minister of Central Province and President of Sri Lanka Basketball Federation Sarath Ekanayake. - Pix: S.M. Jiffry Abdeen - Kandy Sports Corr.

Most Valuable Player.... Benita Thalagoda of Mercantile Services who was picked as the Most Valuable Player receives award from Brigadier Senerath Bandara of Central Command.


LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now |

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior | Magazine |


Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor