Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 18 September 2011





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

67 Naval officers complete training

Prime Minister D.M. Jayaratne taking the salute from a new naval officer

In a colourful commissioning and passing out parade held at the Main Parade Ground of the Naval and Maritime Academy in Trincomalee, 34 Midshipmen of 49th Intake, 20 Officers of 4th Intake of Direct Entry 2010 (RNF) and 13 Candidates of Service Entry 2010 passed out in the evening of the September 10.

The Chief Guest, Prime Minister D.M. Jayaratne took the salute after inspecting the passing out parade. Commander of the Sri Lanka Navy, Vice Admiral Somathilake Dissanayake, WV, RSP*, VSV, USP, NDE, senior Naval officers, parents and well-wishers were also present on the occasion.

The Naval and Maritime Academy (NMA) of the Sri Lanka Navy is the first defence institution in the country to be awarded the prestigious ISO 9001:2000 quality management system certification from the Sri Lanka Standard Institution.

The academy is affiliated to the University of Kelaniya for awarding degrees in naval studies for officer under trainees.

The newly passed out officers marched in a proud and elegant manner captivating the audience who had gathered to witness the momentous event.

Clad in ceremonial naval uniforms, they displayed their talent and skills to the enthralment of everyone who was present.

The passing out parade was held in keeping with the time-honoured traditions and customs of the Sri Lanka Navy.

Those who showed excellence while in training were presented with special awards in recognition of their outstanding performances.

In the 49th Midshipman Intake, Midshipman WMPMB Eriyawa NRX 2725 was selected as the Best Midshipman.

Midshipman JASV Jayasinghe NRX 2724 won a triple award in the Highest Aggregate in overall Subjects, Professional Subjects and Nautical Subjects while Midshipman AD Weerasooriya NRX 2753 was adjudged the Best Sportsman. Midshipman SMCB Kumara NRX 2738 clinched the Best Marksman award.

In the Direct Entry (RNF) 4th Intake 2010 Officer category, Sub Lieutenant JMHI Bandara NRX 2998 was adjudged the Best Direct Entry Officer. Able Seaman (Pro) PR Rajapaksha XR 41466 was selected as the Best Service Entry Candidate 2010.



ANCL Tender - Saddle Stitcher
Donate Now |
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior | Magazine |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor