Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 4 March 2012





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Keen contest expected in St. Sebastian's - Prince of Wales 'Big Match'

CRICKET: The 62nd 'Battle of the Golds' between Prince of Wales College and St. Sebastian's College will be played on March 9 and 10 at the Tyronne Fernando Stadium, Moratuwa. The limited-over game between these two schools will be played on March 11 at the same venue.

The Principal of Prince of Wales College W. D. Jayasena will be the chief guest and the captain of Prince of Wales in 1969 Nimal Fernando will be the guest of honour.

So far in the series the two schools have met each other 61 times with two interruptions in 1938 and 1969.

The Cambrians are leading with six wins while the Sebastian's have got three wins and there have been 52 drawn matches. Last year, St. Sebastian's under Sanitha de Mel won after 45 years and the Cambrians last won in 1977 under Pemlal Fernando.

This year Prince of Wales will be led by third year coloursman Tharindu Dilshan and he has gathered 850 runs during the season with a highest score of 117 runs against Royal College. His deputy will be Hashan Fernando who opens the attack with Satchith Pushpakumara who is a fresher and an allrounder.

St. Sebastian's who are fielding a formidable side have won seven matches and have a well balanced side under the captaincy of under 19 school cricketer and allrounder Amila Aponso who has so far taken 99 wickets. He certainly awaiting his 100th wicket in the 'Big Match'. He is supported by last year's winning captain Sanitha de Mel. Nishamal Fernando is the vice-captain of the side this year.

Prince of Wales College: Seated from left: Chamika Fernando, Akila Bandara (MIC), Ashen Mendis, Susantha Mendis (P ofG), Tharindu Dilshan (Captain), W.D. Jayasena (Principal), Hashan Fernando (V. Capt.), Suranga Wijenayake (Coach), Kusal Mendis, Nalinda Dissanayake (Asst. Coach). Standing (from left): Thilan Nimesh, Didulana Medis, Senak Cheltaka, Navindu Janeesha, Sachin Silva, Suchira Fernando, Gayan Chamara, Sachith Pushpakumara, Crishane Aponsu, Jayanga Peiris, Shanuka Dulaj, Devaka Dabare. Pic: Dilwin Mendis - Moratuwa Sports Corr.

St. Sebastian's College: Seated (from left): Pasan Wanasinghe (coach), Luke Jayadeva, Nishamal Fernando (V. Capt), Rev. Fr. Bonnie Fernandopulle (Rector), Amila Aponsu (Captain), Frank Cooray (MIC) Samitha de Mel, Anushka Perera, Kalpa Fernando (Asst. Coach), Standing (from left): Sachinda Gunawardena, Peshan Anthony, Isuru Mendis, Sangeeth Cooray, Sachintha Fonseka, Annie Fernando, Kusal Silva, Shan Fernando, Marvel Fernando, Kalana Silva, Avishka Fernando. Pic: Dilwin Mendis - Moratuwa Sports Corr.



Executive Residencies - Colombo - Sri Lanka
VAYU Mobile Phones and Accessories Online Store
Kapruka - Mobile Reloads
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now |

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior | Magazine |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2012 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor