Sunday Observer Online
  Ad Space Available Here  


Sunday, 2 September 2012





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Tamil Union–Moors clash in Under-23 final

The finals of the Under-23 Division One cricket tournament, which was put off due to the ICC Under-19 World Cup and the recently concluded inaugural Sri Lanka Premier League (SLPL) tournament, will be played between Tamil Union and Moors at the Colts grounds, Colombo from today.

Moors skipper Ashan Priyanjan

Tamil Union captain Kithruwan Vithanage

Several players from both teams participated in the SLPL tournament - Pabasara Waduge, Chamod Pathirana and Pulina Tharanga of the Tamil Union played in the Youth World Cup series in Australia and captain Kithruwan Vithanage (Kandurata Warriors), Sajith Kelumpriya (Ruhuna Royals), Gayan Manishan (Negenahira Nagas) and Madusanka Ekanayake (Uthuru Rudras) were involved in the SLPL tournament.

Before advancing to the final, Tamil union had four outright wins, one first innings win and two first innings defeats out of seven matches they played. The defending champions, Tamil Union defeated Moors by four wickets in a first round match.

Tamil Union captain Kithruwan Vithanage was awarded the man of the match in a SLPL match against Ruhunu Royals. Ashen Silva, Sajith Kelumpriya, all rounder Denuwan Rajakaruna and Pabasara Waduge will be looking to score heavily for Tamil Union while Madusanka Ekanayake, Matheesha Perera and Suneth Chandima will restrict Moors with the ball.

Moors, led by star batsman skipper Ashan Priyanjan, scored 359 runs with the top score of 150 not out against Bloomfield.

Priyanjan represented the victorious Uva Next team in the SLPL. Leading run getter in the Under-23 tournament, Shehan Jayasuriya (with 620 runs) played for the Wayamba United in the SLPL.

His highest scores in this tournament so far 162 runs in the semi final against Colts. For Moors Imraz Rafik (299 runs) and Chamikara Edirisinghe (329 runs) excelled throughout the tournament.

The bowling department of the Moors will be bolstered by right-arm off spinners Shehan Jayasuriya and Maduka Liyanapathirana, who have captured 32 and 42 wickets respectively in seven matches. Left-arm fast bowlers Narada Ratnayake (16 wickets) and Chamikara Edirisinghe (19 wickets) too had vital breakthroughs in the series.

The teams:

Tamil Union (from): Kithruwan Vithanage (Captain), Ashen Silva, Dinuk Jayasinghe, Sajith Kelumpriya, Denuwan Rajakaruna, Chathuranga de Silva, Pabasara Waduge, Chamod Pathirana, Pulina Tharanga, Ramesh Lakshitha, Vimukthi Perera, Matheesha Perera, Gayan Maneeshan, Madusanka Ekanayake, Suneth Maduranga, Rashmika Maduranga, Sunimal Dissanayake, Chamuditha Karunatilleke, Shevantha Bandara.

Coach Jeevantha Kulatunga, assistant coach Lasantha Prasad, team manager Mahesh Bopage, official scorer Ravindra Fernando.

Moors (from): Ashan Priyanjana (Captain), Shehan Jayasuriya, Isham Gouse, Imraz Raffik, Chalitha Helambage, Maduka Liyanapathirana, Chamikara Weerasinghe, Lasitha Abeyratne, Narada Ratnayake, Lakshan Rangika, Sanjaya Chathuranga, Gihan Mihiranga, Dayan Buddhika, Nipun Kariyawasam, Pradeep Ananda, Luvina Lochana, Prabud Ranasinghe, Jehan Javed.

Coach Mahesh Weerasighe, assistant coach Sampath Epasinghe, team manager and official scorer Fazal Mohamed.



Casons Rent-A-Car
Millennium City
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now |

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior | Magazine |


Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2012 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor