Sunday Observer Online   Ad Space Available Here  


Sunday, 10 February 2013





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Ashel saves Wesleyites

Wesley set to make 185 runs to win in 31 overs plus 15 mandatory overs were 127 for 8 at close and struggling to avoid a certain defeat in their drawn school cricket encounter against Royal at Reid Avenue yesterday.

Wesley in reply to Royal’s first innings score of 221 for 5 declared, lost six of their batsmen for 107 runs on the first-day and could not recover and finally were dismissed for 149. For the Wesleyites Migara Wickremasinghe (43), Jonathan Caderamanpulle (31) and Ashel Kariyawasam (25) were the main contributors.

Wesley’s Ashel Kariyawasam, who saved his team from defeat with a fine knock of 60 , drives a ball, watched by Royal’s wicket-keeper Milan Abeysekara. Pic Susantha Wijegunasekara

Royal going in for the second time with a useful lead of 72 runs, closed their innings at 112 for 7 with Isuru Gunatileka and Heshan Kumarasiri scoring 25 runs apiece, leaving Wesley to get 185 runs with ample time. Helped by a sensible knock of 60 by Ashel Kariyawasam, Wesley batted till the close scoring 127 for 8 in 46 overs. Lasith Embuldeniya took 4 for 35 for Royal giving him a match bag of 8 wickets for 70.

Royal: 221 for 5 dec. (Isuru Gunatileka 74, Heshan Ramanayake 58, Heshan Kumarasiri 47 n.o) and 112 for 7 declared (Isuru Gunatileka 25, Heshan Kumarasiri 25, Sachin Jayawardena 3 for 38).

Wesley: 107 (for 6 overnight 149) - (Migara Wickremasinghe 43, Ashel Kariyawasam 25, Jonathan Caderamanpulle 31, Lasith Embuldeniya 4 for 35) and 127 for 8 in 46 overs (Ashel kariyawasam 60, Lasith Embuldeniya 4 for 35).

Sachin excels in drawn game.

The rain curtailed school cricket encounter between St. Joseph’s and St. Benedict’s ended in a draw at Darley Road yesterday.

The match was played for a trophy in memory of two past cricketers of either school Trevor Croner (St. Joseph’s) and Malcolm Mack (St. Benedict’s) and the trophy has not been won by any school.

The Joes who batted first after a delayed start on the first day reached 205 for 8 declared through a fine partnership by Sadeera Samarawickrema (66) and Sachin Hewawasam (47) who added 60 runs for the third wicket.

Bens in their turn were restricted to 129 for 9 at close with Aravinda Akurugoda (5 for12) and Sachin Hewawasam (3 for 28) taking the bowling honours.

St. Joseph’s: 205 for 8 declared (Dylan Fernandopulle 17, Sadeera Samarawickrema 66, Sachin Hewawasam 47, Priyamal Perera 24, Shehan Perera 29, Chandana Jayasanka 3 for 44, Yohan Soysa 3 for 67, Angelo Ranasinghe 2 for 52).

St. Benedict’s: 129 for 9 in 53.4 overs at close (Thilina Silva 22, Tharindu Karunatileka 30, Indika Jayatileka 18, Aravinda Akurugoda 5 for 12, Sachin Hewawasam 3 for 28).

The following awards were also presented. Man Of The Match. Sachin Hewawasam (St. Joseph’s), Best batsman. Sadeera Samarawickrema (St. Joseph’s), Best bowler. Aravinda Akurugoda (St. Joseph’s), Best fielder. Aravinda Fernando (St. Joseph’s).

At Ananda Mawatha: Ananda-Dharmaraja for the P.W. Perera Trophy end in listless draw.

The school cricket encounter between Ananda and Dharmaraja ended in a draw at Ananda Mawatha yesterday.

In reply to Ananda’s first innings total of 263, Dharmaraja were all out for 217 conceding a first innings lead. Ananda’s Isuru Gunasekera (4 for 64) and Sammu Ashan (2 for 59) bowled best.

Ananda: 263 (Kushil Perera 47, Thaveen Dananjaya 65, Lakshan de Silva 5 for 102) and 87 for 2 at close (Lakkana Jayasekera 33 n.o).

Dharmaraja: 217 in 70.4 overs (Chadimal de Silva 51, Kavinda Ratnayake 43, Deshan Gunasinghe 27, Lochana Wijesiri 25, Tharisha Weragoda 20, Isuru Gunatileka 4 for 64. Sammu Ashan 2 for 59).



Destiny Mall & Residency
KAPRUKA - Valentine's Day Gift Delivery in Sri Lanka
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now |

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior |


Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2013 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor