Sunday Observer Online   Ad Space Available Here  


Sunday, 31 March 2013





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Lankans face tough task in Twenty20 game today

ICC’s top ranked Sri Lanka team, led by debut skipper Dinesh Chandimal, will face a tough challenge from the confident Bangladesh in the one-off Twenty20 encounter to be played at picturesque Pallekele Stadium today.

Currently, Sri Lanka are the best side in the shortest format of the game in the world while Bangladesh are placed ninth in the ICC Twenty20 Reliance Rankings.

The home team will relegate to the second position if Bangladesh will do an upset in the tour ending match today.

Sri Lanka selectors headed by Sanath Jayasuriya, rested experienced Tillekeratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara and seamer Nuwan Kulasekara tossing up six fringe playersi nto the side.

“We miss seasoned campaigners Tillekeratne Dilshan and Kumar angakkara, who performed well in the recent matches. But I am confident with my team, which is a blend of new talants,” said Sri Lanka’s Twenty20 captain Dinesh Chandimal.

Explosive opening batsman Dilshan Munaweera will replace Tillekeratne Dilshan, Sri Lanka’s opening slot with dangerous Kusal Janith Perera, who will be the cynosure of all eyes today.

Kusal Perera’s hard hitting approch in the Lankan top order, bolstered the side in the recent matches and the hosts are set to make an explosive start on the good batting track at Pallekele.

Left handers Kithruwan Vithanage, Shehan Jayasuriya and right handed Angelo Perera are tipped to don Sri Lanka cap with fast bowler Ishan Jayaratne and left arm spinner Chathuranga de Silva in an excting game.

“We will look at the pitch tomorrow and pick the best combination to win the match. Kithruwan, Angelo and Shehan will have a chance as batsmen and all-rounder Chathuranga de Silva and Ishan Jayaratne will be considered tomorrow,” said Sri Lanka’s youngest Twenty20 captain.

Sri Lanka and Bangladesh have played a solitary Twenty20 match at the inaugural World Cup played at Wonderers Stadium, Johannesburg in 2007 where Sri Lanka won by 64 runs.

The tourists will strive hard to win the game after their morale boosting three-wicket win in the rain-curtailed third ODI, played at island nation’s hill capital on Thursday.

“It is a big opportunity for us to be competitive against them, the No. 1 team in Twenty20s, and push for a win,” Mushfiqur said. “They are without [Kumar] Sangakkara and [Tillekaratne] Dilshan, who have troubled us all tour,” said Bangladesh skipper Mushfiqur Rahim.

Sri Lanka team (from): Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Lasith Malinga (vc), Dilshan Munaweera, Kusal Janith Perera, Shehan Jayasuriya, Kithruwan Vithanage, Jeevan Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Angelo Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Chathuranga de Silva, Ishan Jayaratne, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Ramith Rambukwella, Shaminda Eranga.

Bangladesh team (from): Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Abdur Razzak, Abdul Hasan, Anamul Haque, Jahurul Islam, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Ashraful, Mominul Haque, Mosharraf Hossain, Nasir Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Shamsur Rahman, Sohag Gazi, Ziaur Rahman, Nazmul Hossain.


KAPRUKA - New Year Gift Delivery in Sri Lanka
Donate Now |
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior | Youth |


Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2013 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor