Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 16 February 2014





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Clinch Dialog A Division League title by beating Kandy SC by 34-18 in decider:

Navy savour their finest moment on the rugby field

Navys Lithu on his way to score a try with Saliya Kumara of Kandy SC making a vain attempt to foil him. Lithu has more support from his team mates skipper Rohitha Rajapaksa and Namal Rajapaksa in their Dialog A Division League rugby match played at Welisara yesterday. Pic Susantha Wijegunasekera.

Navy Sports Club led by dynamic third row forward Rohitha Rajapaksa enjoyed their finest moment on the rugby field to clinch the Dialog A Division League rugby title with a glorious 34 points (four goals, two penalties) to 18 (three tries, one penalty) win over former champions Kandy Sports Club in the decider played at Welisara yesterday after slender 17-13 lead at the breather.

The Sailors who reentered the A Division rugby arena in 2009, after the conclusion of the North-East war not only remain unbeaten with one match to go, but during its five-year period in the A Division League performed magnifieciently to clinch the title to the joy of their supporters.

Navys centre Mateaki Kafatolu runs into a tackle from Kandy SCs scrum half Roshan Weeraratne but has support from flanker Yoshitha Rajapaksa in their Dialog A Division League rugby match played at Welisara, which Navy won 34-18. Pic Susantha Wijegunasekara.

It was Kandy SC who opened the scoring when winger Richard Dharmapala fell over for an uncoverted try by the corner flag. Five minutes later, the lads from Kandy increased their lead further when David Frank scored by the corner flag. Scrum half Roshan Weeraratne missed the conversion and Kandy were sitting pretty with a 10-nil lead.

In the 15th minute, Navys Nuwan Hettiarachchi put over an easy 15-metre penalty. Three minutes later, the Sailors equalized when Mateaki Kafatolu scored under the post to give Nuwan Hettiarachchi an easy kick at goal.

In the 24th minute of the first half, Kandys scrum half Roshan Weeraratne put over a splendid penalty from 40-metres out.

Two minutes before the breather, the Sailors snatched the lead when an attempted penalty kick by Nuwan Hettiarachchi struck the upright and rebounded for the charging Navy winger Dinusha Fernando to collect and score by the corner flag. Nuwan Hettiarachchi made a spectacular conversion to give Navy a 17-13 lead at lemons.

In the third minute after the resumption, Navy centre Lithu powered his way for 20 metres to touch down under the post. Nuwan Hettiarachchi converted (24-13).

Four minutes later, Nuwan Hettiarachichi, who had a grand game, made no mistake with a 25-metre penalty to make it 27-13.

In the 27th minute, the Sailors put the issue beyond doubt when fly half Chanaka Chandimal received the ball from a maul and sneaked through for try with Nuwan Hettiarachchi adding the extra points, the Sailors led 34-13.

The lads from Kandy, scored the consolation try in the 32nd minute, through their Number Eight Samisoni Faifita with Roshan Weeraratne missing the conversion and the Sailors ran out as worthy champions with a 34-18 win.

Referee: Taku from Japan



Donate Now |
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lank
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior | Youth |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2014 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor