Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 3 August 2014





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Observer/Mobitel Schoolboy Cricketer Award:

Dickwella of Trinity 15th player to win Observer Cricket Award

Niroshan Dickwella, the former Trinity College cricket captain and the Sunday Observer Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year 2012, sweeps a ball during his debut Test innings (72) against South Africa at the SSC grounds in July, 2014. Picture by Rukmal Gamage.

Top Awards: Niroshan Dickwella of Trinity College, Kandy became the 14th player who had won the Sunday Observer Schoolboy Cricketer Award and winning his Test ‘cap’ against the recently concluded Sri Lanka-South Africa Tests matches.

Dickwella won the Sunday Observer/Mobitel Schoolboy Cricketer Award: in 2012 and has done remarkably well to reach the top in two years. Dickwella replaced Prasanna Jayawardena as the new Test wicket-keeper and gave a very impressive display behind the stumps, besides stroking a fluent 72 while batting in the first innings of the Second Test at the SSC.

The other winners of the Sunday Observer Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year Contest who went on to represent Sri Lana at Test Level: are. Ranjan Madugalle (1979), Arjuna Ranatunga (1980/1982), Roshan

Mahanama (1983/1984) Asanka Gurusinha (1985), Roshan Jurangpathy

(1986), Sanjeeva Ranatunga (1988), Kumara Dharmasena (1989), Marvan Atapattu (1990), Muttiah Muralitharan (1991), Naveed Nawaz (1993), Thilan Samaraweera (1994/95’), Kaushal Lokuarachchi (2001), Farveez Maharoof (2008, Dinesh Chandimal (2009) and Niroshan Dickwella (2012).

Muthumudalige Pushpakumara (1999) and Kaushalya Weeraratne (2000) has played for the country in 3 and 15 ODI’s respectively.



Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now |
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lank

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior | Youth |


Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2014 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor