Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 19 October 2014





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Royalist Harith wins Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer 2014 Award:

Sadeera Samarawickrema of St. Joseph’s is...: OBSERVER - MOBITEL Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year

Sunday Observer/Mobitel Schoolboy Cricketer 2014....: Sadeera Samarawickrema of St. Joseph’s College, Colombo carried away the Sunday Observer/Mobitel School Cricket plum for the Year 2014 when he was judged the Schoolboy Cricketer Of The Year amidst a distinguished gathering at the Cinnamon Grand Ball Room last Wednesday .

A smiling chief guest Kumar Dharmasena presents the Sunday Observer/ Mobitel Schoolboy cricketer award to Josephian Sadeera Samarawickrema . From left Anoma Lafir (Director Telecon/Mobitel),Ranjith Sudusinghe (Director Telecom/Mobitel).Bandula Padmakumara (Chairman /Managing Director ANCL),,Minister of Mass Media And Information Keheliya Rambukwella and Dinesh Weerawansa (Editor In Chief Sunday Observer ) look on. Pic. By Susantha Wijegunasekera, Chinthaka Kumarasinghe and Thilak Perera.

Samarawickrema who scored heavily for the Josephians during the 2013/2014 school cricket season represented the Sri Lanka Under 19 in the Junior World Cup concluded in Dubai early this year. He was a top order batsman and a reliable wicket keeper who excelled in both forms and was an intregal part in the side, and was obviously the unanimous choice for the National Award.

Samarawickrema also took the National Award for the Best Batsman while Anuk Fernando, St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa carried away the Best Bowlers award. Another Josephian Priyamal Perera was awarded the Best Fielders prize and Cambrian Shanuka Dulaj won the top all-rounders award. All these players have been representing the country at the Under 19 national level.

The selection committee was headed by National Selector Hashan Tillekeratne comprised members of the Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association and Umpires from the Association Cricket Umpires Sri Lanka. The selection was done purely on merit, taking into consideration how the nominees fared during the school cricket season. Many umpires from the (ACUSL) officiate in school games and many consider that they are the best judges during a game as they are the closest to the players.

Shanuka Dulag of Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa was the runner-up for the Sunday Observer/Mobitel Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year.

National awards

Harith and Rendev – ‘Most Popular’ Winners All-Island

In the Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer Segment for the ‘Platinum’ award the, two Royalists, winner Harith Samarasinghe and Randev Pathirana certainly kept the contest alive with fluctuating fortunes with some brisk voting for both candidates.

Finally Samarasinghe polled in 173,432 votes to Randev Pathirana’s 170,265 to take the first place.

The introduction of the new format from last year of National, Platinum, Gold and Silver had paid rich dividends particularly in the silver division where many outstation lesser known cricket playing schools have been surfacing. For an example the winner of the Silver segment in the Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer category was won by Mohammed Ziras of Madeena Central College, Kandy and a certificate winner in the same segment Hareen Samarasinghe is from Madampa MV in Ambalangoda.

The award winners at the Sunday Observer/Mobitel Schoolboy Cricketer contest 2014

[National Awards]

Best Batsman: Sadeera Samarawickrema (St. Joseph’s)
Best Bowler: Anuk Fernando (St. Sebastian’s, Moratuwa)
Best Fielder: Priyamal Perera (St. Joseph’s)
Best All-rounder: Shanaka Dulaj (Prince Of Wales, Moratuwa)

Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year: Sadeera Samarawickrema (St. Joseph’s). Runner-Up. Shanaka Dulaj (Price Of Wales)

[Platinum Awards]

Best Batsman: Minhaj Jaleel (Thurstan)
Best Bowler: Raveen Sayer (Trinity)
Best Fielder: Yasith Chamod (Royal, Panadura)

[Gold Awards]

Best Batsman: Tharaka Dananjaya (Carey)
Best Bowler: Yasiru Sugandha (Rahula, Matara)
Best Fielder: Indika Shamal (Kegalu MV)

[Silver Awards]

Best Batsman: Dilshan Kanchana (Dewapathiraja, Ratgama)
Best Bowler: Brendon Ebert (St. Thomas’, Kotte)
Best Fielder: Raminu Nikeshala de Silva (Dewapathiraja, Ratgama)

[Team Awards]

Best School Team National Award: Richmond College, Galle
Best School Team National Award runner-up: Trinity College, Kandy.
Best Behaved Team (National Award): Gurukula College, Kelaniya
Best Up and Coming Team (National Award): Saranath MV, Kuliyapitiya
Best Team Western Province: Lumbini MV, Colombo

Runner-up: Ananda College, Colombo

Best School Team Southern Province: Mahinda College, Galle.
Runner-up: Kularatne College, Ambalangoda

Best School Team Northern Province: St. John’s College, Jaffna.
Runner-up: St. Patrick’s College, Jaffna.

Best School Team Central Province: Dharmaraja College, Kandy
Runner-up: St. Sylvester’s College, Kandy.

Best School Team North Western Province: Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa.
Runner-up: Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala.

Best School Team Sabaragamuwa Province: Kegalu Vidyalaya, Kegalle
Runner-up. St. Mary’s College, Kegalle.

Best School Team North Central Province: Central College, Anuradhapura.
Best School Team Uva Province: St. Thomas’ College, Bandarawela.
Best School Team Eastern Province: Uhana MV, Ampara.

(Selected by coupons.)

Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year 2014 (Platinum category): (All Island)
Winner: Harith Samarasinghe (Royal College, Colombo)

Three certificate winners: Randev Pathirana (Royal College, Colombo), Nimesh Gunasinghe (St. Anthony’s College, Katugastota), Akila Lakshan (Royal, College, Panadura)

Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of The Year 2014 (Gold category):
Winner: Lasith Lakshan (St. Thomas’ College, Matara)

Certificate Winners: Tharaka Dananjaya (Carey College, Colombo 8), Thilina Perera (Sri Pangnananda MV, Raddoluwa), Chilan Anjana (Sri Devananda College, Ambalangoda)

Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer Of The Year (Silver category)
Winner: Mohammed Ziraz (Madeena Central, Kandy)

Certificate Winners: Dilshan Kanchana (Devapathiraja MV, Ratgama), Anjun Zarook (Vidyaloka College, Galle), Hareen Samarasinghe (Madampa MV, Ambalangoda)

Donate Now |
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lank
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior | Youth |


Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2014 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor