Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 26 July 2015





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Curtain rises on dream show for schoolboys

The much awaited and the much looked forward to show of the year for schoolboys who will be rewarded for their performances during the concluded cricket season, The Sunday Observer/ Mobitel Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year show will be staged for the 37th year at the Hotel Galadari Main Ball Room on July 28 (Tuesday) at 5.30 pm.

Former Sri Lanka Test cricketer and renowned commentator Russel Arnold will grace the occasion as chief guest

Forty six main awards will be at stake in four categories namely, National, Platinum, Gold and Silver. The contest has recognised many top class players who have represented the country at the highest level on its journey which has lasted for over three decades.

The show is bound to be a toe-tapping, edge-of-the-seat one interspersed with a variety of entertainment to have the recipients and the audience spellbound.

The contest has seen four Test captains emerging from the system and a galaxy of players who have represented the country at the highest level. It is certain that the successful run of the contest will continue and bring out more and more talented players for the future of Sri Lanka cricket.

In the recent past in 2009 Dinesh Chandimal and in 2011 Niroshan Dickwella from Trinity College, Kandy have written their names as the last two players who have won Test ‘caps’ for the country.

The present ICC Chief Match Referee Ranjan Madugalle was the first to win the coveted award in 1979 and Arjuna Ranatunga the 1996 World Cup winning captain won it twice in 1980 and 1981. Thereafter Sanath Jayasuriya won the Outstation Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year award while at St. Servatius College, Matara who subsequently created a sensation at the 1996 World Cup and helped Sri Lanka to win it. He also captained Sri Lanka.

Some of the other recipients are the present national coach Marvan Atapattu who also led in Tests and ODIs, Roshan Mahanama who won the contest in 1983/1984 and led the team in 1992 at Sharjah and Dinesh Chandima in 2009 who was the captain of the ODI and T20 teams at onetime. Looking back The Schoolboy Cricketer Of The Year contest has been in the forefront in giving youngsters the due recognition and the confidence to forge ahead. It has been a stepping stone for their future endeavours

The Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year is selected by the readers voting via coupons appearing in the English and Sinhala daily news papers and the Sunday Observer. The selection of the other segments National, Platinum, Gold and Silver is purely done on merit by the umpires of the Association Of Cricket Umpires and officials from the Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association. The highest awards in the contest are for the Best Batsman, Best Bowler, Best fielder, Best all- rounder , Schoolboy Cricketer Of The Year and the runner-up. Besides the national awards, there is also Platinum, Gold and Silver awards.


eMobile Adz

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | World | Obituaries | Junior | Youth |


Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2015 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor