Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 24 May 2009





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

BoC Super Hockey Sevens on May 30-31

The seventh annual All Island Schools and Clubs men and women Seven-a-Side Hockey Tournaments organised by Seetha Devi Balika Vidyalaya, Kandy named as Bank of Ceylon Super Sevens sponsored by Bank of Ceylon will be worked off at the Asgiriya Stadium in Kandy on May 30 and 31 with the bully off set for 8 a.m. each day.

The tournament organised under the guidance of their hockey coach M.A.M. Ashroff who has made this school a champion outfit winning most of the hockey titles including the National School Games title for girls.

Ashroff said that Bank of ceylon has come forward for the second year in succession to sponsor this tournament.

The defending champions

are - girls under-19: Pushpadana Girls College.

Boys under-19: St. Benedict's College, Kotahena.

Club - women: Seetha Devi Sports Club.

Club - men: Sri Lanka Army.

The chief guest at the opening ceremony will be for Dharmaraja College and Sri Lanka hockey player and the present General Secretary of the Sri Lanka Hockey Federation and Superintendent of Prisons, Galle, Gamini Jayasinghe.

The chief guest at the awards ceremony will be M. Kiridaran, Chief Legal Officer, Bank of Ceylon and President, Bank of Ceylon Sports Club. Also gracing the occasion will be former Sri Lanka Test cricketer Brendon Kuruppu.

Ashroff said that all eight teams entering the quarter-finals will paly in one final or other under cup - plate, bowl and shield championships.

The teams which have entered this tournament are - schools - boys: Ananda College, Nalanda College, St. Benedict's College, Zahira College, Colombo, Royal College, Wesley College, Prince of Wales College, Dharmapala College, Pannipitiya, Vidyaloka College, Mahinda College, Sridhamma Vidyalaya, Richmond College, Maris Stella College, Bandaranayake National School, Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa, St. Sylvester's College, Kingswood College, Dharmaraja College, Trinity College, Vidyartha College, Sri Sumangala College, Vijaya College, Christ Church College, St. Thomas' College, Matale, Zahira College, Mawanella and Uva College, Badulla.

School Girls: Yasodara Vidyalaya, Ladies College, Yasodara BMV, Gampaha, Gothami BMV, Seetha Devi BV, Girls High School, Pushpadana Girls College, Hemamali BV, St. Anthony's Girls College, Swarnamali BMV, Vijaya College, Christ Church College, Sangamitta BV and Vihara Maha Devi BMV, Badulla.

Clubs: Sri Lanka Navy `A', Sri Lanka Navy `B', Sri Lanka Army `A', Sri Lanka Army `B', Sri Lanka Police `A', Sri Lanka Police `B', Sri Lanka Air Force `A', Sri Lanka Air Force `B', University of Colombo, University of Moratuwa, University of Peradeniya, Christ Church SC, Wennappuwa SC, Old Bens SC, Old Thomians SC, Matale, Vijaya SC, Park SC, Old Vidyarthians SC, Old Cambrians SC, Maris Stella SC.

Clubs Womens: Colts SC, Colombo, University of Colombo, Sri Lanka Navy `A', Seetha Devi SC, Yasodara SC, University of Moratuwa.



St. Michaels Laxury Apartments
Donate Now |
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Spectrum | Impact | Sports | World | Panorama | Junior | Letters | Obituaries |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2009 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor