Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 16 January 2011





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Association of Professional Cricket Umpires formed

CRICKET: Former Test cricketer and Test umpire Asoka de Silva was unanimously elected as the president of the newly formed Association of Professional Cricket Umpires (APCU) at their Annual General Meeting held at Wellawatte recently.

More reputed cricketers, who have played the game at top level namely Test opening bowler Nuwan Zoysa, Shanuka Dissanayake, Amila Perera, Pramuka Liyanage, Roshan Jaymon, Ian Daniel, Lucky Rogers Fernando, A.Rizan, Amila Mendis are among the new set of umpires.

The Association was formed last November 2010 with 50 umpires and has gone from strength to strength with 120 in a period of one year.

This Association began on a sound footing with a strong welfare sector which has collected Rs. 350,000.00 in this short period of time.

The funds will be utilised for the benefit of the umpires. The APCU has already donated a sum of Rs.100,000.00 to Mr. K.T. Francis recognising his services towards umpiring. Francis underwent surgery recently.

The APCU was formed with the consent of SLC and had conducted seminars to recruit umpires. The programme has been a big success as 40 out of the 52 applicants were successful at a written examination. Certificates

were presented to the umpires who qualified at a simple ceremony.

The APCU also wish to notify all cricket playing organisations, clubs, schools etc. that a professional service with a competent set of umpires are available, should they require them.

The contact numbers are: K.K.Jayqweera (Assignment Secretary) 0777 889969 or 071 8020981)

The following committees were appointed for the year 2010/11.

President: Asoka de Silva.

General Secretary: Maurice Dela Silva.

Treasurer: Ranmore Martinesz.

MARKETING COMMITTEE: Athula Wickrematileka, Ruchira Palliyaguru, Kumar Dharmasena, Keerthie Bandara, Deepthi Bandara, Naushan Rafeel and Prasanna Viswajith.

WELFARE COMMITTE: W.C.C.Rodrigo, Naushan Rafeel, R.Wimalasiri, K.K.Jayaweera, Chanaka Thenuwara, Tissa Silva,Chandana Mahesh, R.Dinapoorna.

EXAMINATION AND GRADING COMMITTEE: T.H.Wijewardena, Asoka de Silva, Ranmore Martinesz, Kumar Dharmasena, Maurice Dela Zilva.

Assistant Gen.Secretary: Prageeth Rambukwella, Assistant Treasurer: Janaka Kulatunga, Media Manager, Athula Wickrematileka. (RA)


Donate Now |
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior | Magazine |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2011 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor