Sunday Observer Online   Ad Space Available Here  


Sunday, 10 March 2013





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Despite weather gods coming to Thomians’ rescue:

Chamika hero of Right Royal win

In a match destined to be ruined by rain due to the number of overs lost (70) in the first two days, with rain and more rain predicted Royal’s medium pacer Chamika Karunaratne opened the ‘gates’ for a Royal win with a sustained spell of medium pace bowling in both innings with a match bag of (9 for 83) as Royal beat S. Thomas’ by seven wickets at the 134th ‘Battle of the Blues’ encounter at the SSC grounds yesterday. Royal last won in 2006 under Nadun Punchihewa. They regained the D.S. Senanayake Shield after six years.

Milan Abeysekara his a six over mid wicket off the bowling of Helakumara Nanayakkara on his way to 22 not out in the Royal second innings. He remained unbeaten on 50 in the first innings. Pix : Thilak Perera

Royal threw down the gauntlet by declaring their first innings at their overnight score of 260 for 5 with a lead of 68 runs. Milan Abeysekera remained unbeaten on 50 while Poorna Alujthge was 21 n.o. adding a valuable unfinished 72 run stand for the sixth wicket. The pitch which was covered due to rain and the early assistance which provides the bowlers in the first hour in the morning would have prompted Royal to declare their innings and the Royal bowlers stuck to their job admirably backed up by good fielding. Royal, had banked their hopes heavily on Chamika Karunaratne who bowled exceptionally well in the first innings to take five wickets and the other medium pacer Hashen Ramanayake to exploit the conditions and give the side the early break through which they did successfully.

It was Ramanayake who struck twice by shuttering the stumps of opener Nipun Gamage (0) and then got the wicket of the top scorer of the first innings Devin Jayasinghe who hooked and was caught in the deep by Roanaka Ahangamage. Royal skipper Devind Pathmanathan rotated his bowlers well and replaced himself by bringing in Karunaratne who trapped the Thomian skipper Javed Bongso leg before wicket playing across the line for 19. Bongso and Deelaka Herath batted painstakingly adding 38 runs for the third wicket.

Karunaratne was at his best again when he made Herath to edge one to keeper Abeysekera after scoring 19 and the Thomians were ushering a crisis situation. They plunged into disaster further losing the wicket of one of their accomplished batsman Thilaksha Suimanasiri being run out for the second time in the match for five runs when his presence at the wicket needed most.

Sanesh de Mel steered one into the point region and took off. Thilakasiri responded, but could not beat the throw from Harith Samarasinghe which was a direct hit at the wicket. The Thomians were at that stage 73 for 5 and struggling for survival with only a lead of five runs.

Pathmanathan kept on switching his bowlers spinners Aluthge, and Samarasinghe, pacies Ramanayake and Karunaratne where the Thomians kept on guessing all the time. There was not much of help for the spinners. When Karunaratne and Ramanayake were on the attack they posed a threat to the batsmen. Besides a sensible innings of 49 n.o by wicket keeper Sanesh de Mel the rest of the Thomian innings perished under immense pressure.

With the Thomians dismissed for 132, Royal’s victory target seemed to be an easy one as they had to get 66 runs to win with ample overs at their disposal. Royal in their quest for quick runs lost three wickets, but left hander Milan Abeysekera who struck an unbeaten 50 in the first innings and Sampath de Silva rallied around to take Royal to victory.

[Holiday for Royal]

March 11 (Monday) has been declared as a holiday for Royal College to mark the victory of the school’s cricket team at the 134th Battle of the Blues.

The awards :  
Man of the match: Chamika Karunaratne (Royal)  
Best batsman: Devin Jayasinghe (S. Thomas’)  
Best bowler: Chamika Karunaratne (Royal)  
Best fielder: Devind Pathmanathan (Royal)  



Roanaka Ahangamage c Bongso b Nanayakkara	 	40
Isuru Gunatilleke lbw b Kularatne	  		07
Sampath de Silva st de Mel b Tillekeratne	 	61
Hashan Ramanayake b Kularatne	 			43
Heshan Kumarasiri c De Mel b Wijesinghe	 		20
Milan Abeysekera not out	 			50
Poorna Aluthge not out	 				21
Extras (lb-4, w-1, nb-13)	 			18
Total (for 5 wkts decl. in 63 overs, )		       260

Fall of wickets: 38, 64, 149, 180, 188
Bowling: Sahan Wijesinghe 13-1-64-1
	 Ishan Kularatne 11-2-42-2
	 Helakamal Nanayakkara 7-0-28-0
	 Ravindu Tillekeratne 9-0-35-1
	 Madushan Ravichandrakumar 16-1-58-0
	 Thilaksha Sumansiri 5-0-21-0
	 Devin Jayasinghe 2-0-5-0

Dulaka Herath c Abeysekera b Karunaratne	 	25
Nipuna Gamage b Ramanayake	 			13
Devin Jayasinghe c Ahangamage b Ramanayake	  	00
Javed Bongso lbw Karunaratne	 			19 
Thilaksha Sumanasiri run out	  			05
Sanesh de Mel not out	 				49
Helakamal Nanayakkara (sub Sooiyabandara) b Aluthge	03
Madushan Ravichandrakumar c S. de Silva b Karunaratne	01
Ravindu Tillekeratne b Karunaratne	  		00
Sahan Wijesinghe b Samarasinghe	  			05
Ishan Kularatne run out	  				00
Extras b-4, lb-3, w-5)	 				12
Total (all out 182 m, 58.5 overs)		       132

Fall of wickets: 14, 22, 60, 63, 73, 89, 98, 100, 121, 132.
Bowling: Chamika Karunaratne 17-6-32-4
	 Hashan Ramanayake 10-3-36-2
	 Anupa Thilakaratne 1-0-7-0
	 Poorna Aluthge 15-5-27-1
	 Devind Pathmanathan 10-4—19-0
	 Harith Samarasinghe 5.5-4-4-1

Ronaka Ahangamage c Herath b Nanayakkara	 	16
Isuru Gunatilake c Devin Jayasinghe b Nanayakkara	12
Sampath de Silva c Herath b Nanayakkara	 		13
Milan Abeysekera not out	 			22
Hashan Ramanayake not out	  			00
Extras (nb 4)	 					04
Total (for 3 wickts in 11 overs)	 		67

Fall of Wickets: 1-27, 2-30, 3-62
Bowling: Sahan Wijesinghe 2-0-11-0
	 Ishan Kularatne 4-0-20-0
	 Helakamal Nanayakkara 4-0-30-3
	 Dewin Jayasinghe 1-0-6-0


KAPRUKA - Valentine's Day Gift Delivery in Sri Lanka
Donate Now |
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior |


Produced by Lake House Copyright © 2013 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor