Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 29 May 2016





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Gala Evening of Gratiaen Award

Prof. Walter Perera, Chair of the Gratiaen Trust, and Thiyagaraja
Arasanayagam, winner of the Gratiaen Prize 2015, show the winning
certificate to the audience

H.D. Premasiri addressing
the guests


Gehan Blok reads from a short-listed work


Chairman of the Gratiaen Trust, Prof Walter Perera, delivers the introductory speech

An evening of the English Medium Writers of Sri Lanka took place at the BMICH on May 14 where a memorable event of Gratiaen Award took place in the presence of a constellation of writers. Gratiaen Award began in 1992, with the pioneering effort of Michael Ondaatje; it was meant for promoting quality creative writing among English Writers of Sri Lanka at a national level. The Gratiaen Award for the year 2015 was awarded to Thyagaraja Arasanayagam's anthology of Poems titled White Lanterns: Vesak 2011. Among the five shortlisted nominees were: Ashok Ferry's Ceaseless Chatter of Demons, Shehan Karunatilaka's Devil Dance, Chammi Rajapathirana's Travellers Tales and Grace Wickramasinghe's Closure.

The panel of judges consisted of Captain Elmo Jayawardena (Chair) Ms. Tracy Holsinger and Dr. Dinali Devendra. The event was sponsored by Sarasavi Bookshop.

Pictured here are photographs of the event and the After-party.



eMobile Adz

| News | Editorial | Business | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | World | Obituaries | Junior |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2016 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor