Sunday Observer Online


News Bar

News: Attempt on EPDP leader's life captured on CCTV ...           Political: Iran-Sri Lanka ties blossoms after President's visit ...          Finanacial News: Sri Lanka's exports to India increases three-fold after FTA - Indian High Commissioner ...          Sports: Heroic knock by Sangakkara as Hoggard wrecks Sri Lanka ...

DateLine Sunday, 02 December 2007





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Olcott Memorial old boys cricket tourney

CRICKET: Henry Steele Olcott Memorial Cricket Tournament which is held annually since 1999, has become quite popular among the old boys of Dharmaraja, Ananda, Nalanda, Dharmasoka, Maliyadewa, Mahinda, Dharmapala and Rahula, Matara.

The 2007 tournament will be held from the 7th to 9th of December, 2007 at Campbell Place, Colombo organised by the Nalanda College Old Boys Union. In the past some outstanding cricketers have participated in this tournament and this year the following players will be participating for their respective teams.

Ananda team will have Arjuna Ranatunge, Sidath Wettimuny and Brendon Kuruppu, Dharmaraja team will be represented by DDP Alwis (who led Dharmaraja in there solitary victory in this tournament in 2000), Senaka Dissanayake, Mahinda Pethiyagoda, Nandana Kanakaratne and Udaya Yatawara.

From Nalanda there are Bandula Warnapura, Jayantha Seneviratne, Hemantha Devapriya and Sudarman de Silva. From Maliyadeva, Sudarshan Gunasekera and S.R.R. Yatawara, Dharmasoka will have Channa Silva, Tedlal Fernando and Anura Silva, Dharmapala W.L. Vithanage, Gamini Perera, Senaka Angulugaha and Oliver Ranasinghe. Then Upul Sumathipala and Gajaba Pitigala from Old Mahindian team Sunil Kandamby and K.K. Jayaweera from S. Rahula, Matara.

The following Old Boys teams have emerged champions; 1999 - Champions Maliyadewa & Runners-up - Nalanda, 2000 - Champions-Dharmaraja & Runners-up - Nalanda, 2001 - Champions - Dharmasoka & Runners-up - Ananda, 2002 - Jt. Champions - Ananda & Dharmasoka, 2003 - Jt. Champions - Ananda & Dharmasoka, 2004 - Champions - Dharmasoka & Runners-up Ananda, 2005 - Jt. Champions - Dharmasoka & Maliyadewa, 2006 - Champions - Dharmapala & Runners-up - Dharmasoka.

The draw for the tournament: 1. Dharmapala vs Mahinda, 2. Nalanda vs Rahula, Matara; 3. Dharmaraja vs Dharmasoka, 4. Maliyadeva vs Ananda.

The schoolboy teams will also play and the draw for the schools tournament. The draw will be the same as that for the old boys tourney.


Gamin Gamata - Presidential Community & Welfare Service
Ceylinco Banyan Villas

| News | Editorial | Financial | Features | Political | Security | Spectrum | Impact | Sports | World | Plus | Magazine | Junior | Letters | Obituaries |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2007 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor