Sunday Observer Online   Ad Space Available Here  


Sunday, 3 March 2013





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

84th Battle of the Maroons:

Hettiwatte's sparkling century powers Nalanda to 298/5 decl

Middle order batsman Pramud Hettiwatte cracked an aggressive hundred to power Nalanda College to 298 for five declared against Ananda College on the first day of the 84th Battle of the Maroons, which began at SSC grounds, Colombo yesterday.

Nalanda's hero Pramud Hettiwatte hits a cracking cover drive during his majestic innings of 102 not out on the first of the 84th Battle of the Maroons at SSC grounds yesterday. Pic Susantha Wijegunasekara

Left handed Hettiwatte reached his blistering hundred in just 87 balls with a fine lofted drive over mid-off for four off Tiran Wijesuriya becoming the first century maker for Nalanda since D Attanayake's century in the 2006 Big Match.

The 17-year-old son of former Nalandian and Sri Lanka ODI cap Hemantha Devapriya, smashed dozen fours before the crowd invaded the field to celebrate his brilliant century.

When Nalanda were in a difficult situation at five down for 132, Hettiwatte and right handed Avishka de Silva forged a record 167-run undefeated partnership for the sixth wicket. Silva anchored the innings facing 173 balls hitting nine boundaries.

Ananda captain Thushara Samarakoon won the toss and decided to field first. Seamer Venuka Ashan's early strike removed opener Malinga de Silva, who was bowled for 1 when the Nalanda total was nine. One drop Malinga Amarasinghe joined opener Woshantha Silva and the pair added 52 runs for the second wicket. Left handed hard hitter scored run-a-ball 37.

Left handed Amarasinghe showed fine temperament and faced 157 balls for his 60 with seven fours. In the first over after lunch break Amarasinghe went onto drive over mid-on and Kushil Perera took a well judged catch to make it 132 for five.

Ananda College's Shammu Ashan troubled the batsmen and picked up three for 73.

Ananda in reply had made 14 for no loss in five over as crowd invaded the field.


W. Silva c T. Smarakoon b S. Ashan 		37
M de Silva b V. Ashan				01
M. Amarasinghe c K. Perera b I. Gunasekera 	60
L. Jayakody c T. Dhananjaya b S. Ashan		01
L. Wijeratne c D. Pathirana b S. Ashan		10
A de Silva not out				77
P. Hettiwatte not out			       102
Extras (b4, lb3 nb 2, w1)			07
Total for (five wickets in 81.5 overs)	       298

Fall of wickets: 1-9, 2-61, 3-71, 4-96, 5-132
Bowling: V. Ashan 12-2-52-1
	 T. Wijesuriya 10.5-1-41-0
	 I. Gunasekera 24-4-86-1
	 S. Ashan 23-3-73-3
 	 T. Athulathmudali 10-2-33-0
	 T. Dhananjaya 2-0-6-0

D. Wijesinghe not out				07
T. Athulathmudali not out			05
Extras (w1, nb1)				02
Total (no loss in five overs)			14

Bowling: K. Dias 3-0-9-0, D. Ranwalage 2-1-4-0.


KAPRUKA - Valentine's Day Gift Delivery in Sri Lanka
LANKAPUVATH - National News Agency of Sri Lanka
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL)
Donate Now |

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | Montage | Impact | World | Obituaries | Junior |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2013 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor