Sunday Observer Online


Sunday, 23 August 2015





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Political rejects

Nearly thirty told to walk by the people:

People rejected nearly 30 prominent politicians including former Ministers at the Parliamentary elections held on August 17. Many of the defeats were shocking.

Rosy Senanayake and Thilanga Sumathipala are prominent among those who lost their Parliamentary seats from the Colombo District under the United National Party (UNP) and the United People's Freedom Alliance (UPFA).

Rosy Senanayake went on record saying that she respects the people's verdict but vowed to continue her service to the community. "I have no regrets," she said. She attributed her defat to the fact that she had to confine the campaign to her electorate.

"A UNP victory and to install a UNP-led government was my priority and my efforts were to make it a reality. And it did happen. This is another reason why I was unable to focus on my campaign. My party won and I am really happy about that," she said.Even though the UPFA and the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna took decisions to bring in their defeated but important party members to Parliament, through the National List, the UNP decided to stick to the people's verdict.

Prominent political figures,former Minister S.B. Dissanayake (UPFA), Eric Weerawardhana and Abdul Cader from the UNP lost their seats from the Kandy district.

From the Matale district long standing politicians, Nandimithra Ekanayake and Rohana Dissanayake lost their seats. From Nuwara Eliya Renuka Herath and P. Rajathurai District also failed to enter Parliament. Former Minister, Mahinda Samarasinghe lost his seat from the Kalutara district. Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, Hemal Gunasekara and Vijaya Dahanayake of the Matara District lost the opportunity to enter Parliament. From the Gampaha District, Felix Perera, Pandu Bandaranayake, Upeksha Swarnamali and Sarath Kumara Gunaratne failed to win back their seats.

Vijith Vijayamuni Soysa and Jagath Pushpakumara, both former UPFA MPs from Moneragala, lost their seats. Meanwhile, Lakshman Seneviratne, Udith Lokubandara, Chamika Buddhadasa and Rohana Pushpakumara have all lost from Badulla.Veteran politicians Tissa Karaliyadda and W.B Ekanayake lost their seats in Anuradhapura. Chandrasiri Suriyaarachchi and MS Thaufeek , from the UNP lost in Polonnaruwa. Nirupama Rajapaksa and V.K. Indika lost their seats in Hambantota.Deputy Minister Shantha Bandara, Jayaratne Herath and Nilwala Wijesinghe , from the UPFA, lost their seats in Kurunegala. In the Puttlam district, Neomal Perera, Antony Fernando, Dayasritha Tissera and Milroy Fernando have lost from Puttalam District. Despite the people's verdict the UPFA National List includes them.

The UPFA list includes S.B. Dissanayake, Thilanga Sumathipala, Mahinda Samarasinghe, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardane and Vijith Vijayamuni Zoysa. The rest of the UPFA National list included Sarath Amunugama, Malith Jayathilake, Dilan Perera, Angajan Ramanathan, Faizer Musthapa, A.H.M. Fowzie and M.L.A.M. Hizbullah. Even though Sunil Handunetti lost his seat, the JVP has him on the National List.

The decisions of the UPFA and the JVP gave rise to vehement opposition of civil organisations, particularly the National Movement for Social Justice, opposing the idea of altering the people's verdict. Maduluwawe Sobitha Thera, leader of the National Movement for Social Justice, went on record yesterday demanding the Government to head for constitutional changes to avoid such instances. "The only solution is to enact a new Constitution and amend such shortcomings, " the thera said.

Meanwhile, the possibility of Ministers and Parliamentarians switching parties according to their whim is barred by the Memorandum of Understanding signed last Friday by the UNP and the SLFP to avoid further political hiccups.


Daily News & Sunday Observer subscriptions
Daily News & Sunday Observer subscriptions
eMobile Adz

| News | Editorial | Finance | Features | Political | Security | Sports | Spectrum | World | Obituaries | Junior |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2015 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor