Sunday Observer Online


News Bar

News: Over 10,000 jobs at FTZs ...           Political: Sri Lanka needs no foreign blessings - JHU ...          Finanacial News: Strict rules to regulate private buses ...          Sports: Wayamba - Kandurata clash in inter-provincial final ...

DateLine Sunday, 13 January 2008





Marriage Proposals
Government Gazette

Wayamba - Kandurata clash in inter-provincial final

CRICKET - The heavyweights of Sri Lanka cricket will be on their final showdown prior to their departure to Australia for the Commonwealth Bank Triangular limited over series when Lanka Bell Wayamba led by national skipper Mahela Jayawardena and MAS Holdings Kandurata skippered by deputy Kumar Sangakkara will engage themselves in a battle of wits at the final of the Inter provincial limited overs championship at the Sinhalese Sports Club grounds today.

Soon after the final the Sri Lanka cricketers are due to take wing Down Under and the performance of the players in this tournament will no doubt provide food for thought for the selectors while picking the final squad.

The Kandurata team had already booked their place in the final with their unblemished run with maximum points. At Kurunegala on Friday Kandurata confirmed their supremacy defeating the Wayamba team in a rain curtailed match. Not a ball was bowled in another game between Hiradaramani Ruhuna and Lexmark Basnahira at the Galle Stadium due to rain.

Probably the highest prize money of Rs. 2.5 million for the winning team and a million rupees for the runner-up in a local tournament is in the offing. In addition the Player of the tournament will receive Rs. 100,000.00 and the Player of the final will be presented a sum of Rs. 50,000.00.

The men of the match during the league stages will also receive a sum of Rs. 10,000.00 each and all players including the reservers will receive Rs. 6000.00 per match.

The teams. Lanka Bell Wayamba from. Mahela Jayawardena (Captain), Jehan Mubarak, Michael Vandort, Maheka Udawatte, Jeevantha Kulatunga, Lanka de Silva, Shalika Karunanayake, Ferveez Maharoof, Ishara Amarasinghe, Chanaka Welegedera Rangana Herath, Sameera de Soysa, Kaushal Lokuarachchi, Ajantha Mendis.

MAS Holdings Kandurata from. Kumar Sangakkara (Captain), Tharanga Paranavithana, Sajith Fernando, Thushara Mirando, Chamara Kapugedera, Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Kaushalya Weeraratne, Muthiah Muralitharan, Thilan Samaraweera, Akalanka Ganegama, Suraj Mohammed, Nadeera Nawala, Kanchana Gunawardena, Nisitha Rupasinghe, Chaminda Vidanapathirana.



Gamin Gamata - Presidential Community & Welfare Service
Ceylinco Banyan Villas

| News | Editorial | Financial | Features | Political | Security | Spectrum | Impact | Sports | World | Plus | Magazine | Junior | Letters | Obituaries |


Produced by Lake House Copyright 2007 The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd.

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor